We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Highly recommended. I've stayed at a few other B&Bs and so far James and Susan are definitely at the top of my list.

Excellent breakfast, very accommodating if you have individual needs, snacks and wine at 1730, and a they are very helpful at helping you find your way around, or giving recommendations for local attractions.

James and Susan are great, and at some point we may return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mockingbird room. Not a giant size, but it was fine for us, it is on the corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6092_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 677 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wow! That's the first word that comes to mind. James and Susan, the innkeepers were absolutely wonderful and do an awesome job of providing a very special and unique stay. The food is out of this world, the hor d'oeuvres and wine were a great touch as is what you find in your room at the end of the day. Room was comfy with all the amenities and I found the sheets were divine. My only complaint? We had to leave! Stay here with someone special; I did and it was a weekend we'll never forget!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctopusLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second visit to the Carolina Bed and Breakfast and we cannot say enough wonderful things about this charming establishment. James and Susan are such gracious, friendly, and caring hosts and make you feel right at home as soon as you step foot through the door. The bed and breakfast is walking distance to downtown which is excellent; the location cannot be beat. The rooms are all beautifully laid out: we stayed in the Hummingbird room last year and the Cardinal room this year and both were equally as charming, spacious, and spotlessly clean. Now onto the food! Susan is an excellent cook and the evening cocktail hours are a lovely time to mingle with the guests while sampling some delicious hor deurves. Sweet treats are left in the room to come home to at night and the breakfasts are simply divine. Susan uses local, fresh ingredients and it shows in her delicious cooking. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about the Carolina Bed and Breakfast and we wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Asheville. Thank you again for an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxdncechic7xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed two nights at Carolina Bed & Breakfast in December 2012. It was cold and raining when we arrived, around 7 pm, but were warmly welcomed by Sarah, who showed us around, took us up to our room, and offered us wine and snacks, which she left out long after we arrived, so we would not feel rushed. The room was very clean and comfortable, heated by an electric fireplace that we could set to our own comfort level. The food was very flavorful, and the breakfasts were set in a lovely dining room. We would not hesitate to stay there again when we visit Asheville and would highly recommend Carolina Bed & Breakfast to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in the Robins Nest room on Dec. 28 & 29th. Our room had plenty of space and the bed was so...comfortable. the small fireplace was perfect since we had a little snow one day. The breakfasts were delicious and I was surprised that the evening gathering had some nice wines and tasty hors d'ouevers. Our hostess Sara was helpful and welcoming. We had friends who also stayed so the palor was a great place to meet up and talk and play some cards. The location is close to downtown. A great place to stay! !!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay in Asheville at the Carolina B&B. It was Christmastime and the inn looked lovely and charming both outside and in. Our room even had a little lighted Christmas tree to welcome us! We stayed in the Robin's Nest room and it was just perfect. The bed was very comfy and the electric fireplace kept us toasty. Breakfast was scrumptious and our host was gracious and welcoming. She gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner the night we arrived and not only was the food wonderful (Nine Mile; Jamaican flair) but carolers dropped in to sing a couple of songs in beautiful harmony. In all, a great place in a perfect location in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I loved this beautiful and cozy B&B. Its ideal location compliments the owners' graciousness and sound advice on Asheville excursions. Great breakfasts and snacks in the evenings. We'll be return customers. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
716 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $253 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing