We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a relaxing stay at the beautiful Carolina B&B. Our Innkeeper (Sara) was gracious, friendly, and helpful. The location in the historic district is ideal - pretty, safe, and within walking distance to downtown. We fully recommend staying here if heading to Asheville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
486
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
535 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Carolina B&B’s decidedly one of the fanciest B&Bs we’ve stayed at. Good location – leafy quiet residential neighborhood 15-20 min easy walk to downtown Ashville. Nicely furnished and decorated sitting room and library, and a pantry fridge stocked with an assortment of drinks. Fantastic hosts – James will practically plan out your entire day’s schedule for you, if needed, including dinner reservations, and Susan kept all the guests pampered with her superb cooking – from the creative happy hour snacks to gourmet breakfast offerings (different recipes each day!). We had the Mockingbird room upstairs and it had the most luxurious and spacious bathroom, Jacuzzi tub as well as a separate shower (complete with big fluffy towels and bathrobes). Room itself not big but comfortable (bed could have been slightly firmer), with gas fireplace which we made ample use of – the warm glow from the fire creating a warm soothing atmosphere, very helpful for a good night’s sleep. Communal seating at breakfast at one of the two dining tables - good time for socializing with other guests. We had a wonderful two-night stay there and certainly would like to find another excuse to go to Ashville so that we can stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the week of Thanksgiving here and absolutely loved it! We were there Tuesday through Sunday and enjoyed every minute of this beautiful B&B and charming Asheville. Breakfast we delicious every morning and we had a wonderful time getting to know the other guests. Every evening we went down for an hors d'oeuvres and wine with the other guests which was really nice and we always returned to our rooms to find a delicious dessert! We stayed in the Mockingbird Room which was incredibly comfortable. We loved the fireplace and used it every night! I would highly recommend the Carolina B&B to anyone looking to spend either a night or a whole week in Asheville! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Working with James over the phone couldn't have been more pleasant. I felt more like we were going to stay with old family friends. When we arrived James showed us around the beautiful inn, showed us our cottage and then told us as much as we could retain about Ashville and places to go and things to see. I should also add that we were travelling a day after Hurricane Sandy and our flights got pushed put a few days - James was happy to accomodate the changes.

The room was terrific and as promised, the breakfast was sumptuous and served family style so we had an opportunity to meet other guests. Unbeknownst to us James and Susan host a nightly get together with terrific snacks (not just chips and nuts) and local wine. Another chance to get to know our hosts and other guests.

The inn is a 15 minute walk into the center of town and James gladly suggested some amazing restaurants for us to dine as well as a few places to catch some music. I hope to come back to Asheville and when I do I hope we'll be able to stay with James and Susan again!

Marc

Room Tip: The cottage is private and roomy but if you're looking to save a little, the Miss Webb room is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast, and it was the first time that I didn't want a vacation to end. From the moment we walked into the inn until it was time to leave, James and Susan made us feel welcome. James was always available to answer any questions we had. He gave us suggestions about restaurants for dinner, a chocolate lounge for dessert and where to go if we wanted to hear live music. His suggestion for dinner was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever had. Susan created incredible breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres for the evening social that made you look forward to the next treat. We are still talking about the butterscotch and chocolate chip cookies that were in the cookie jar. We stayed in the private cottage, and it was perfect. The cottage was proof that James and Susan thought of everything. During our stay with them, we didn't have to make a special trip into the main inn to get anything because we already had it. I'm not sure when we will get back to Asheville, but when we do, we will definitely be staying with James and Susan again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mkw1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hero, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This lovely inn within walking distance to downtown is truly a wonderful little oasis after a day of exploring. Beautiful, comfortable rooms and incredible breakfasts combined with perfect hospitality made this a place we highly recommend. My husband and I love staying in B & B's and this was easily one of the nicest. We especially enjoyed the "social hour" from 5:30-6:30 pm where guests are encouraged to mingle over wine and excellent hors d'oeuvres.
Don't miss this place when staying in Asheville!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Look no further than the Carolina Bed & Breakfast for the most wonderful stay you've ever had anywhere! James & Susan are not only the perfect host & hostess, but are folks you'll wish you lived closer to just so you could hang out with them more! They are sincerely welcoming, accomodating in every imaginable way, generous with their time and knowledge, talented, smart, genuine, and funny! The inn, its setting, and its furnishings are the perfect mix of cozy, grand, immaculate, whimsical, cheery, and all around amazing. The food was delicious, the service was gracious, and the special touches were delightful. The Carolina Bed & Breakfast felt like the home we WISH we had!

Room Tip: The Miss Webb Room on the ground floor at the foot of the stairs was a dream come true! THE comfiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing