We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful last minute getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful last minute getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a last minute getaway and contacted James, the innkeeper, to find out if there was any availability this past weekend. He quickly responded back that there was one room left so we decided to book it and boy, am I glad that we did! This quite possibly was the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to! The house is gorgeous and kept immaculately clean. James and Susan were so welcoming, friendly, and eager to share their knowledge with us about Asheville. They recommended wonderful restaurants and places to visit. Our room was decorated beautifully, and was spacious, comfortable, and lovely. Treats were left for us each night that were simply delectable. The daily cocktail hour was delicious, with yummy homemade treats and beverages. And the breakfasts!! Wow, were they good! I cannot say enough positive things about the bed and breakfast and was already asking my husband on the car ride home when we could come back and stay here again. Kudos to James and Susan! They run a superb bed and breakfast, one that has historical charm mixed with modern amenities. I cannot wait to return to the Carolina Bed and Breakfast. You cannot beat the location to downtown and the innkeepers will make you feel right at home in their gorgeous establishment!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxdncechic7xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
487
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have been here twice before as romantic getaways so now that we were married last November (2011) we decided to have a mini-honeymoon at Carolina B&B which holds a fond place in our hearts.
As always Susan and James are such amazingly gracious hosts. They have great sense of when to help and when to leave you in peace. Their home is very relaxing and quiet and located in a very cool neighborhood (perfect for afternoon strolls). Be prepared for some great breakfasts as well as an enjoyable social hour in the evening.
We booked a different room this occasion and enjoyed it equally as well as our previous favorite (Mockingbird).
We heard another guest comment to Susan about how well they slept and asked about the mattress. While the beds are indeed great with wonderful pillows and linens we believe the secret is in consistently creating a warm, relaxing atmosphere that lets you just unwind with ease, time and time again.

Room Tip: Both Mockingbird and Goldfinch are quiet and roomy with great baths and fireplaces. Mockingbird is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I recently stayed in the cottage house and couldn't have asked for anything more, just outside the inn we got up in the morning and made the very short walk to the dining room for breakfast. The food was incredible, Susan is quite the cook, between breakfast and the nightly happy hour we were very well fed. For those that are unaware Asheville has a large beer culture with many local breweries near by, Susan and James directed us to a local beer tour that was a lot of fun and a great way to see the surrounding area and some local culture. The Inn is a short walk from downtown and was a wonderful place to stay and I look forward to going back!

Room Tip: The cottage was wonderful, your own private retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamecockjoe915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

The place is beautiful both on the exterior and interior. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We stayed in the Mrs. Webb room and the bed is extremely comfy. The atmosphere of the Carolina B&B screams elegance and romance without being stuffy or pretentious. It was this fact that gave me the inclination to propose to my now fiancee' in the Mrs. Webb room. Needless to say, she said YES and I definitely owe a great portion of credit to this lovely establishment for my successful proposal.

Sara is an amazing host and her meals are top notch! On a scale from 1 - 10, I would give her food a 20! That's not an exaggeration. It is certainly THAT good! I highly recommend the Carolina B&B for couples visiting downtown Asheville.

The location is great too because it is within walking distance of downtown and some other restaurants in the neighborhood.

Overall, it was A+++++ and I'm going to book another stay in the near future. Thanks Sara and Carolina B&B!

Room Tip: Mrs. Webb room for 1st floor, others are on the 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Sara is a fantastic host. My wife and I decided to spend a weekend in Asheville
on the spur of the moment. I called and Sara returned my call in a professional manner and informed me there was one room available. She made us feel welcome on arrival and she had a sincere interest in our satisfaction. The accomodations were good, the guests were friendly and there was a sense of professional pride at this B&B. The food was outstanding. We have stayed at many B&B's throughtout the country and the owners are fortunate to have Sara working for them. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I could not imagine a better place to stay. Sara was very hospitable and her cooking is fantastic. We are a young couple concerned about money and decided to splurge and stay here at $150/night. Could not have made a better decision and we honestly saved money. Breakfast was huge, so we skipped lunch. In the evening the happy hour was so yummy we always ended up over eating and skipping dinner. There was construction in the back, but it was hardly noticeable and not any bother. We will stay here EVER time we go to Asheville now. Fantastic, Fantastic, Fantastic! Oh and did I mention it was a quick, easy walk (.5 miles) to downtown and right around the corner from a fantastic restaurant The Nine Mile. Great Choice!

Room Tip: No pets allowed... Be careful about over eating (food is good)... call first if you have a disabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

It is rare to stay anywhere and have no complaints about any aspect of your experience but that is just what happened at Carolina B&B. Lovely clean and comfortable room, excellent food, unbeatable service, warm and inviting surroundings, and a great location with conventient parking are just a few of the reasons we would definitely return for another stay. The owners were away on vacation and Sarah took care of everything we needed and more. Delicious snacks mysteriously appeared in our room every day while we were away! If we needed directions, she had a map. We requested vegetarian breakfast and she made special items for us every day. Basically, she took great care of us! We would recommend Carolina B&B to anyone. And Asheville is a fun and interesting place to visit - we hope to be back soon!
Room note - we stayed in the Hummingbird Room which had an awesome fireplace and luxurious bed plus a large bathroom and comfy chairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallblondemom, Owner at Carolina Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
We are delighted that these guests enjoyed themselves so much, and particularly pleased about the positive feedback about Sara, our assistant innkeeper.

Running an inn demands a lot of time and attention: so we also need a break from time to time.

Sara works at the inn on a daily basis and she is the only person we fully trust to run the inn full-time while we are away, since we know she will give the guests the kind of attention and care that we want all our guests to experience while staying at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast.

Thanks for this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing