We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B in the heart of historic Montford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I had the most enjoyable stay at the Carolina Bed & Breakfast in Asheville. The location of this beautiful historic inn cannot be beat. It is within walking distance of all of the great eateries and shops in downtown Asheville. The house maintains its historic character while providing the utmost comfort, and the hosts, James and Susan, make you feel right at home. In the afternoons, they served delightful hors d'oeuvres and local wines from the Biltmore Estate. Every breakfast was different and amazing and they use only the finest of ingredients.
In addition to the wonderful accommodations and food served at Carolina B&B, the hosts are genuinely interested in making certain you have the best possible visit to Asheville. They are very knowledgeable in the nearby hiking trails, shops, restaurants, the local organic grocery stores (for picking up items for a picnic lunch when hiking), attractions, etc... This is definitely the best place to stay if you are taking a trip to Asheville.
Thanks again James and Susan for making our weekend such a special one!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 676 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The reviews are correct - delicious food, great location, wonderful hosts and homy facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cepaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Carolina B&B. James and Susan are gracious hosts that made our first stay in Asheville a memorable one. Susan makes delicious and interesting breakfasts and hors d'oeuvres and James dutifully serves and explains them. And let me not forget the delightful evening snack that's always waiting for you at the end of the day, perfect! They are close to everything and gave wonderful suggestions for restaurants. We will come back again.

Room Tip: The room sizes vary but I don't think you can go wrong. We stayed in the cardinal room and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaGirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at Carolina B&B. Our room, the Robin's Nest, was large, well appointed with furniture from the hosts' travels in Asia, with a marvelously comfortable king sized bed and lovely views from the windows. The entire inn was beautifully renovated and spotlessly clean. James was very informed about the area and most helpful in selecting restaurants and activities - his suggestions were spot-on. Susan's breakfasts and evening hors d'ourves were delicious and unique - and her recipes are available in a cookbook. The inn is located in a lovely residential neighborhood in the historic district with a short walk to downtown. We highly recommend Carolina Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkz161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Carolina B&B in Asheville and we can't say enough good things about it! James and Susan were delightful and so helpful. The room was beautiful, the food delicious and the location couldn't be better. We foresee many trips to Asheville in the future and plan to stay at the Carolina every time!

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Miss Webb Room, which is downstairs by the living room and dining room. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfasts, happy hour, and bedtime snacks. Walking distance to downtown Asheville through the beautiful Montford district. This is easily the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in many). We were traveling with a small trailer, and the hosts were very accommodating about parking it on the property. Excellent value, we highly recommend it.
Marika & Ross (Elizabeth City, NC)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Had a great time and this b&b!
Booked my reservation for the wrong day and when we arrived the owners were very nice and accommodated us anyway! Room was very cozy and clean, and breakfast was delicious!
A nice 15 min walk from downtown and the owner James was very helpful recommending places we would like. Over all highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltlevivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,647 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
255 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $253 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carolina Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing