We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - lovely house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay - lovely house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been happier. Our hosts were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to help us with any query we had. Breakfast was always a treat and the rooms were comfy and beautifully appointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia_B88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
493
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a great place to stay--you will not go hungry. It is close to restaurants and attractions but still a little out of the traffic and bustle of the town--which is a plus. James is very knowledgeable about things to do in the area and was more than happy to take the time to sit and chat, give you recommendations, directions, etc. Susan was always busy in the kitchen preparing the evening snack, dessert and breakfast. We stayed in the private cottage outside which was excellent and provided some added privacy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which was an excellent option for us to have added privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nothing but the best in every category. Great service, great house, everything you could want for a restful home base in Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Carolina B&B was more about the people then the building, which was just lovely. As James and his wife Susan were out of town for the weekend, Sara took care of us for our first day and 2 nights. She was amazing!, coordinating everything that went on in this gorgeous B&B. For us, her most important contribution was breakfast. We would have paid $40 easily at a local breakfast joint for what brought out to the dining room: strawberry yogurt coulis appetizer, freshly made quiche, 2 sausage rounds (delicious) and the best scratch-made biscuit I've had in years. Oh yeah, and if you enjoy good coffee, Carolina B&/b serves a decent cup! Thank you for everything, Sara!

Our room had sizable bathtub/jacuzzi, a fireplace and a plush king-size bed. That's all I'm gonna say about that.

Our second and final morning was started with James' intro to our breakfast. He brought out fresh berries with what tasted like a mascarpone yogurt topping. Not to be outdone, the main dish was served: french toast rounds with whole blueberry sauce and orange zest, bacon on the side. Yes, folks, another exceptional breakfast. James then helped us thoroughly plan a couple hikes for our day. He has an intimate knowledge of the area, as he was recently became a certified leaf spotter for the Fall Foilage Network. Fantastic recommendations, James!

Let me just say that Asheville must be the hippest mountain town east of Colorado. I've spent time in the VA (Harrisonburg/Charlottesville/Blacksburg) and West VA (Morgantown). Asheville has more flavor and more happenings then all of them. And that was our primary motive for an Asheville get-a-way. Our choice of B&B had more to do with proximity to downtown (less than 1 mile) more then anything else. But that changed, thanks to the folks at Carolina B&B. They made a great trip exceptional.

In closing, if you're planing a trip to Asheville and would like to stay within 1 mile of all the creative wonder that is downtown Asheville, BOOK with Carolina B&B!

Room Tip: Golldfinch was perfect for 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisleyTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I, along with her parents, had a great experience at Carolina B&B. Both of our rooms were very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. The grounds around the house were well cared for and the front porch is a great place to sit and spend time on a nice day or evening. Susan went out of her way to make sure I avoided several foods that I am allergic too. James was very helpful in giving guidance to things we could do during our stay. You will be pleased with your decision to stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at Carolina Bed and Breakfast for three nights and were very happy with our stay there. The room we stayed in was very charming, including a private fireplace. The hosts, Susan and James, were extremely helpful in assisting us plan our outings in the area. The homemade breakfasts made by Susan were delicious. The stay here really helped to turn a good weekend escape into a great weekend escape. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Asheville.

Room Tip: Our room, the Cardinal, was in the front of the house, so it was occasionally a little noisy with ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My fiancee and I travelled up to Asheville for a little break from school and work (and to celebrate my birthday) in July. In the middle of a neighborhood, you avoid the downtown city traffic you might expect and feel like you're coming home each time you come back. Yet at the same time, you're so close to town you could walk if the weather was nice (it was about 95 degrees out when we were there so no such luck for us). You're also a very short drive from the Biltmore Estate and the Cherokee Indian Reservation.

The Cardinal room was clean and extremely comfortable.

Although the food was exotic for my tastes at times (not their fault, I'm super picky), James and Sarah were more than willing to accommodate and bring me something else or more of the parts of the meal I enjoyed. We also appreciated the touch on my birthday of putting a candle in my pancake and having me blow it out. The appetizers at night were tasty as were the deserts that appeared in our rooms (brownies and lemon bars) both nights we were there.

Loved it and had a great, refreshing couple of days where we could take the city at our leisure and could not have enjoyed it more. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Address: 177 Cumberland Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1736
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carolina Bed and Breakfast is located in the historic Montford District near great restaurants and shops, and a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Biltmore Estate. Guests enjoy a cozy fireplace in winter and cool drinks on the front porch in summer. The spacious rooms showcase the owner’s art and antique collections. Amenities include luxurious linens, comforters, and whirlpools or Jacuzzi tubs. Bountiful gourmet breakfasts are prepared with fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing