We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“The Best”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Larry and Nancy (the innkeepers) are very friendly and knowledgeable about Ashville attractions. The breakfast is fantastic. Everything is made from scratch and the portions are hearty. The rooms are well decorated and very clean. Nice porches to relax and unwind. We stayed in the McIntosh room. Would highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXWolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
471
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week in June 2009. We were met by Nancy when we arrived. She gave us a tour of the house and made an extra effort to describe things in detail since my wife is blind. That was just the beginning of a wonderful week. The breakfasts were amazing. We had to skip lunch several days since the breakfast was so filling. The food was so good we didn't want to waste anything. We stayed in the Winesap room which has a beautiful tub for 2. We can't think of staying anywhere else in Asheville. Thank you Nancy and Larry.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband and I selected the Applewood Manor Inn from an internet search and could not have been more pleased with our selection of accommodations! The proprietors are most gracious, personable and helpful and set a pleasant tone in all areas.

This inn is located in the beautiful historic district of Montford which is tops for convenience to Asheville attractions. Larry & Nancy are dog & people lovers and even provide a seperate cottage for those who desire to bring their dog along with them on their travels.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEMOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This was our second stay at the Applewood Manor, and we will continue to stay there whenever we visit Asheville. From the moment we arrived, we and our pets were treated like members of the family. The wine & cheese social hour is a great way to get aquainted with the other guests and unwind after traveling and unpacking. For pet owners, the Cortland Cottage is ideal, and the jacuzzi tub is an added bonus. The location is great- nestled on a quiet residential hilltop minutes from downtown and the Biltmore Estate, and a stone's throw from the UNC campus. If you travel with your pets and have a difficult time finding quality accomodations that accept pets (like us), this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank par7254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2009

My wife and I chose to stay at Applewood Manor Inn on our 1st wedding anniversary. We're both in our mid-20s and this was our first B&B experience. We were very satisfied with the house, our room and the food. The area is very quiet with a number of B&Bs on the same street. We stayed in the York Imperial room and had a blast with the comfortable bed and private deck. The breakfast was wonderful and the company great. Larry and Nancy are fantastic hosts. I think they may have converted us in to B&Bers for life.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblinwreck_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa, GA
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Larry and Nancy are wonderful hosts who cater to their guests. They made our honeymoon special at their beautiful bed and breakfast. The 3 course breakfast was excellent!

Larry and Nancy made you feel like part of their family and very attentive to our needs. Their friendly, warm, and humorous personalities made you feel welcomed into their home. We could not have selected a better place. We so enjoyed our heart shaped bubble tub, relaxing on the porch, or in the garden.

Thank you both for making our honeymoon wonderful! Everything was excellent!!
Milton and Darlene

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonniesingeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai California
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I decided on the Applewood Manor for 2 of our 4 days in Asheville after much TA research. It was a little out of my price range but I decided to bite the bullet and live well. It turned out to be a grea choice. To sum it up briefly the owners are wonderful hosts and great cooks. The place is squeaky clean and very inviting. The breakfast...well lets just say that it's so good you may not be able to leave the house for a while after. It takes some time to fully recover from an amazing meal. Diet before you go to minimize the guilt. Great wine, cheese and goodies in the afternoon. If you don't know the area very well you really need to stay at a B&B to get the inside scoop on where to go and what to do. I know the B&B business very well and I've stayed in many around the country. This is the type of place that they are (or should be) all shooting to be like. If you like a little social interaction with your lodging, B&B's are the way to go. The better the place, the better the quality of guests, and the better all around experience. Based on what I've read, heard, felt, seen, smelled, and tasted - you can not do better that The Applewood Manor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojaicraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,670 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing