We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Applewood Manor sets the platinum standard for hospitality!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, SC
1 review
“Applewood Manor sets the platinum standard for hospitality!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

We've stayed in several B&B's over the years, and had good experiences at them all. But our stay at Applewood Manor was above the rest. To start, our room (York Imperial) was quite spacious and comfortable, and had a porch. We looked in the other 4 rooms while we were there, and none were what I'd consider cramped. The smallest room (Granny Smith) also has a porch. There was an exceptional amount of common space on the ground floor. Rather than try to cram in another sleeping room or 2, the ground floor is all common space. So, if you need a comfortable, quiet space out of your room, you can find it here. Our 3-course breakfasts (we stayed 2 nights) left nothing to be desired. And, we enjoyed the evening refreshments. The grounds are quite nice and quiet. Downtown Asheville is within a 20-minute walk, which we enjoyed one day. But, what set our visit to Applewood Manor apart was the hospitality of the innkeepers--Nancy and Larry. They were the most gracious and accommodating of hosts. And they were great company. They have a gift for making people feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
466
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

we stumbled upon this wonderful B & B located in the historic district of Asheville, NC. We have stayed in B&B's throughout Europe, but Applewood was a completely different experience. The owners provided a very welcoming and homey experience. The food was fantastic and filling, the amenities were excellent (wi-fi, wine/cheese snack, drinks in the rooms). I would recommend Applewood to anyone traveling to Asheville.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryNCTHandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

This is the seventh B&B we have stayed at in several different cities. The Applewood Manor gave us far-and-away the best experience we have had. Nancy and Larry make you feel like family more than lodgers. And though we are introverts by nature, we were naturally drawn into making friends with them, their friendly dogs, and the other guests.

The breakfasts are superb. As is the service. They make your bed while you are at breakfast, so you can lounge in a made up room all day. They provide a 5pm social with treats and hospitality. They give you a turn down service with chocolates in the evening.

Though just off I240, you would never know it. The inn is on a quiet street surrounded by other old homes of architectural interest. A 20-minute walk or a 5-minute drive takes you to downtown Asheville with galleries, shops, fine restaurants, and more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Larry and Nancy are exceptional hosts who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcomed. The breakfast was splendid and consisted of several courses. They had your morning beverage of choice waiting for you in the morning. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese time in the afternoon. The house is set in the historic area of Asheville with great outdoor area and balconies (unfortunately it rained the whole time and we didn't get to enjoy this). We look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

Our daughter found this charming B&B on the internet and gave us a weekend as a gift, so we had no idea what to expect. All we can say is that it far exceeded our expectations. Here's why in a nutshell. The rooms were impeccably clean and well appointed. The environment was extremely welcoming and it was quiet at night. The breakfasts were not only tasty but were downright fun. One morning one of the couples came down in their Applewood Manor robes which led to some fun interchange. The location of the B&B is very close to downtown Asheville. But, the best part of the experience was the warmth and humor of Nancy and Larry. Within one day you felt as if you could exchange humorous barbs...and we did. If you stay there, and we hope you do, we would recommend that you always ask Larry to relax since he is so overworked. We would absolutely recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We spent my birthday weekend at Applewood, and everything was perfect. Nancy and Larry are welcoming and attentive without being overbearing. The rooms were beautifully appointed but homey. The porches - especially the side porch off the living room with the world's best rocking chairs - are not to be missed. Breakfast was scrumptious; the wine and cheese hour a fun little bonus. Nancy and Larry are knowledgable about the area and helped us find an art show we wanted to see. We loved the site location on a pretty little knoll with trees, hidden from the city, but within walking distance of downtown Asheville. Five stars!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband I stayed at Applewood Manor Inn for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The Innkeepers take great pride in the smallest details. The homemade breakfasts to start each day were delicious, and their knowledge of the town was helpful to us in planning our visit. From hiking mountain trails, to reading in their backyard garden, to dining at fabulous restaurants, this is a great place to escape to when you need to get away!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurendupriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,352 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing