We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my all-time favorite B&Bs. Can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I can't say enough great things about this B&B. We've stayed at a lot of them, and this is one of the best.

The property is beautifully maintained and the rooms are spotless. And you can't beat the location--It's in a lovely neighborhood (Montford Historic District) that's just an easy, 20-minute walk into town.

Innkeepers Nancy and Larry Merrill are very welcoming and helpful. We were amazed when they told us they hadn't even been doing this a full two years. Everything seemed to run so smoothly.

And you won't go hungry staying here. The food is amazing. Every three-course breakfast starts with a homemade quick bread. We were there for three nights, so we enjoyed (Ghirandelli) chocolate chip bread the first morning, date walnut bread the next, and citrus bread on our last day, all of which were delicious. Then came house-made granola with yogurt and fresh fruit (and different combinations of fruit each day, no less). And finally, the main event. While we were there, we got to try the strawberry french toast (outstanding!), quiche (amazing!), and blueberry pancakes (to die for). And the coffee is great, too.

After eating that breakfast, we didn't need lunch; it lasted us until late afternoon, which is when Nancy and Larry put out a very nice spread of cheese and crackers, red and white wine, and something sweet like homemade apple cake and/or brownies. And if that's still not enough for you, there are bowls full of Hershey's miniatures in all the public areas.

We felt quite pampered and at ease here. Our biggest challenge? Trying to save room for dinner at some of Asheville's terrific restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OompahLoompah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 626 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

What a spectacular place as well as spectacular hosts. Larry and Nancy could not possibly have done more to make us comfotable. Bring your appetites as the breakfasts were great. The wine and cheese at five gave us an opportunity to mingle with other guests as well as our hosts. The stay was provided by our children to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversay and we couldn't possibly have had a better time. We will be back!'

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank teddybeargrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

It was my second visit to the Applewood Manor and this last experience was just as wonderful as the first. Nancy and Larry Merrill are the perfect hosts and you are made to feel very much at home from the moment you arrive.
Breakfast is a special treat with simply delicious food prepared by Nancy and served up with Southern charm and humor by husband Larry.
Their beautiful 100 year old home is the perfect location if visiting Asheville or the Biltmore. And, provided you visit in season as we did, you can pick apples in the back yard!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AuburnToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

1st time in a B & B and we weren't quite sure what to expect.
We booked for 4 nights. Everything about this inn was perfection.
We could park right on the grounds. Very quiet street even though close to downtown. The house is immaculate clean and very well appointed with fire places in every room, beautiful antique furnishings and fresh flowers. The breakfasts were homeade delight (with china and crystal)- after 4 mornings, we never had the same thing twice. The back yard is like a park - there are flowers everywhere and apples you can eat right from the tree. Nancy and Larry were wonderful hosts, we felt like old friends when we left. Highly recommend this inn.
Wynona from Texas

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We recently stayed at Applewood Manor B&B and everything was wonderfull. The hosts Nancy and Larry took great pride in accomodating us during our stay. Our room was very comfortable and had a fireplace and it's own balcony. The house is absolutely beautiful and has two porches with swings and rocking chairs. The lawn is huge and has an arbor to sit under and a great hammock, which we enjoyed. Downtown Asheville is a short walk from the house and Biltmore is only a short drive. The breakfasts are three course delights that were some of the best food that I have ever eaten. Nancy hosts afternoon wine hour with great wines, cheese and chocolate. We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and are glad that we did. The place met all of our expectations and more. We look forward to returning to Applewood Manor and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wolfpacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Nancy and Larry go out of their way to make you feel like family, complete with hugs when you arrive and leave. The breakfasts are four courses . . . so be prepared. The rooms are lovely and homey.
NIce location, too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Madsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

I've done a lot of traveling all over the world and Applewood Manor is one of my favorite places to stay. The house & all of the the rooms (did not see the top floor room) are bright, airy & immaculate, furnished with antiques that give you a feeling of the South. The house itself has lots of porches and cozy spots to relax & our hosts made us feel so comfortable wandering around making ourselves at home. We felt genuinely welcome, like they were happy to have us there. Nancy makes a REALLY delicious breakfast and both Nancy & Larry take a genuine interest in helping you find what you need/want around Asheville & making any arrangements. I cannot think of anything I would want to change, and believe me, I usually do!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wildk9zNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,272 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
884 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $198 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing