We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, cozy elegance in the heart of downtown Asheville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My fiancé and I were referred to this B&B from another B&B that was full. We feel so lucky they had a room open for us! We stayed in the Macintosh - LOVED the automatic fireplace! The pneumatic 2-person bathtub was fun, complete with bubble bath and color changing lights! They even offered DVDs and a DVD player, so we stayed up late watching movies and eating snacks! Just a restful, terrific time, and a delicious three course breakfast with new friends was the perfect start to the day! Thanks to Nancy and Larry for their welcome and kindness!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 632 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were so pleased to make a return visit to this wonderful B&B. It is a most beautiful house, with lovely bedrooms (we stayed in Macintosh again) and reception rooms for the guests to use. There is also a pretty garden for warmer times! It sits in a most attractive neighbourhood, within easy walking distance of the centre of Asheville and very handy for Biltmore. Nancy's breakfasts alone are worth the stay! And she and Larry are the most friendly, caring and knowledgeable hosts. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Asheville, and hope to be back before too long!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for three nights starting with Christmas. Larry and Nancy are very welcoming and great hosts. Highlights were the wine and cheese set out every evening at 5, great breakfasts, and the beautiful home. While it's a hike, downtown Asheville is walkable from the B&B. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

An amazing time in Asheville was made all that much better by Nancy and Larry and their hospitality. They are very interesting people that have so much knowledge and stories to share! We loved the cottage since it is so private and spacious. The heart shaped jacuzzi is a nice touch too! Nancy makes a wonderful breakfast and the nightly wine and cheese is an added bonus. The location is great being it is only 3 minutes from the Patton/College/Lexington downtown area. Can't say enough great things about the place itself and about Nancy and Larry. We talked with them for about 2 hours before we left. Next time we are in Asheville, hopefully soon, we will be staying with them again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage so it is very private with a heart shaped two person jacuzzi in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tunzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently during a trip to the Biltmore. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. The entire house is spotlessly clean, and the owners are very hospitable and friendly. The food (breakfast) is also outstanding. There was coffee and soft drinks available throughout the day, along with some nut-cerial mix - would have been nice to have cookies and fruit, but that is no big deal.
The only aspect that was less than perfect was our room and bed. The room we had was moderatly cramped, and the bathroom was clostrophobic, with a tiny shower. The mattress on the bed was fine -- a new comfortable pillow top. However the blanket and pillows were not great. The blanket was thin fleece summer weight, and the pillows were synthetic, and some were beginning to get lumpy. There is individual temperature control in each room, so we were able to stay warm, but in the winter we prefer to sleep in a cold room with a down comforter and down pillows. In a high end B&B, (or hotel for that matter) we have come to expect down comforters and pillows. In fairness, we did not go down and ask for these ammenities, but the bottom line is that at $200 per night one should not have to.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Northern Spy" room if you are clostrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caddis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applewoodmanor, Owner at Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We do thank you for your review and your many kind comments. Larry and I and our staff do strive to meet or exceed the expectations of all our guests. We certainly acknowledge that our Northern Spy room at 11 x 17' is our smallest room and does have the most compact bathroom. It is also our least expensive room ranging from $145 in off-season to $180 for your stay during our prime season. We are not a high-end B&B and try to avoid any such portrayal. We strive to provide a warm, inviting facility with good food and friendly, comfortable atmosphere for each of our guests. Obviously, we failed in meeting your full expectations and for that we do sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

As two young professionals from Atlanta, we came to Asheville expecting to stay in a b&b with soft quilts, scented soaps, and friendly innkeepers. What we did not expect were our witty yet gracious hosts! We especially appreciated the social hour and delicious breakfasts which facilitated friendships in a new town. We may have left our laptops at home and robes in the closet, but for those interested, applewood offers both the modern conveniences such as wifi and direcTV and the not-so-modern luxuries such as monogrmmed bathrobes and multiplies rooms w cozy fireplaces. If 48 hours w your significant other prove to be a little overwhelming, you can always seek the company of the manor's silky terrier, Lila. In other words, don't over-think it... Just stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crschneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed with Nancy and Larry at the Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast for our honeymoon to Asheville. My husband and I are both new to the B&B experience and didn't quite know what to expect. We were greeted by Larry and immediately felt at home. We stayed in the Winesap Suite and were blown away by how beautiful the house was. Our room was large and accommodating and we were greeted by a card and plant when we got to our room! It was very thoughtful. The breakfast Nancy prepared for us each morning was AMAZING, and we were even treated to a wonderful southern breakfast by Larry for our final meal:) the house was in a perfect location and was so warm and inviting. I can't say enough good things about this place. Given the opportunity to do our honeymoon over, we would absolutely stay with Larry and Nancy again. It was absolutely perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSUTigersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
887 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,373 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $240 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing