We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just visited the Applewood Manor and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Nancy and Larry are wonderful hosts. Our room was clean and tasefully decorated with a gas fireplace, which we used a lot. Nancy's breakfastes were gormet and handled my wife's vegan requests perfectly. We enjoyed sitting around the fire in the living room during the wine and cheese social. The house was artfully decorated for the Christamas season. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurers11805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 632 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our second visit. The first was at the end of May 2013 and was so relaxing and comfortable we couldn’t wait to come back. The second visit for 4 nights at the end of November lived up to the high standards set by the first. We stayed in the York Imperial and it was roomy and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were just as yummy and filling as first time. Some old favorites like the first course of mixed fruit which you can top with Nancy’s great heart healthy granola and a little vanilla yogurt if you choose and some things new to us like a perfect omelet with a choice of ingredients. We also enjoy the social hour with nice wine and cheese and interesting guests to chat with.
The Applewood is a warm and wonderful place run by warm and wonderful people. It’s such a pleasure staying there and being taken care of and entertained by Larry and Nancy and their staff.

Room Tip: We loved the York Imperial - a relatively large room with a fireplace, balcony and comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Janis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at Applewood Manor for our November honeymoon. It was simply perfect. From the moment we arrived we felt like part of the family. Nancy's 3 course breakfasts were a perfect start to our days. Chatting in the kitchen after breakfast really felt like home. Larry and Nancy are so warm and kind and were really great to chat with. Wine social hour was a great touch and a great time to meet the other guests. This was our first stay at a b&b and definitely won't be our last. Our room was cozy on the cold nights and waking up to snow covering the beautiful grounds was amazing.

Fantastic hosts, great location, awesome staff, and a couple of cute and we'll behaved dogs. Couldn't have been a more perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtapp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Applewood Manor over thanksgiving and were received with a warm welcome and enjoyed all the little amenities such as complementary wine and cheese. We stayed in the Northern Spy room which was a little cool even with the heat turned up so we had to look for extra blankets and the water temperature in the shower was very temperamental. Overall, we had a wonderful stay though. The breakfasts are to die for and Nancy and Larry are amazing hosts with a great sense of humor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Nancy and Larry were the best hosts. Breakfasts were amazing - I don't want to think about the calories - the inn is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Perfect location, in a quiet neighborhood of lovely homes on wooded lots, but close to town.

Room Tip: The Macintosh Room has a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi, also a private balcony and a fierplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived Nov 22 from out of state. We had many options to choose from on Trip Advisor and stumbled upon this one. The reviews looked good, so we decided to book it. We arrived way before check in time on Friday, and we were easily accommodated. The house is a beautiful historic home overlooking the town. Nancy and Larry were wonderful hosts, including the little dogs, Maggie and Lila. Not to mention, the 3 course breakfasts were amazing!! We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would definitely return given the chance. You will not regret staying at Applewood- it was truly a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter- get a room with a fireplace! The Macintosh was just what we needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_aself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Applewood Manor in October with 10 of my friends from Duke. The Inn is lovely and was great for a group like ours. We were able to visit with each other in the parlor and on the porches. We ate breakfast together and wine and snacks in the afternoon. Nancy's breakfasts are outstanding and served with good humor by Larry. We used almost every room and all of them are comfortable. A few have very small baths but that did not bother us. We made use of our two day passes to the Biltmore House and loved the town of Asheville. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
887 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#13 of 66 in Asheville
6,367 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $240 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing