We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Applewood Manor in October with 10 of my friends from Duke. The Inn is lovely and was great for a group like ours. We were able to visit with each other in the parlor and on the porches. We ate breakfast together and wine and snacks in the afternoon. Nancy's breakfasts are outstanding and served with good humor by Larry. We used almost every room and all of them are comfortable. A few have very small baths but that did not bother us. We made use of our two day passes to the Biltmore House and loved the town of Asheville. I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HVmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 655 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Applewood Manor ended up being a great choice for our honeymoon. We spent 6 nights in June in Asheville and our stay could not have been more comfortable. Nancy and Larry are wonderful innkeepers that add that personal touch you don't get at a hotel or resort. Nancy's breakfasts are gourmet and many days we did not even have an appetite for lunch as they are the perfect morning fuel for an activity filled day. We took the opportunity to walk downtown several nights, which is feasible for any able-bodied visitor and there are even some great dining options within a more manageable walk from the property. The grounds of the Applewood Manor are beautiful and we took the opportunity for an afternoon nap in the shade on a couple occasions. It was a wonderful escape and we would not hesitate to return in the future. We were so glad we got to spend our honeymoon in Asheville at the Applewood Manor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cortland Cottage, which was excellent for couples getaway. You have your own parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Applewood Manor is simply an exquisite experience. Beautifully appointed and immaculately maintained, it is like stepping into the past, but with modern amenities! Nancy and Larry treat each guest like family and the breakfasts are nothing short of amazing. My husband and I visited in October and stayed in the Granny Smith room. How cute is that? The social hour with wine and cheese was a delightful way to end a busy day. No B&B could possibly top this one. I have recommended this charming inn to so many people and hope that we can return for another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eapushaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great facilities but Nancy and Larry made it one of the most enjoyable that we have ever experienced. Don't miss it if you are in that beautiful area! We stayed in the guest cottage, which was like our home away from home. The food was superb and the fellowship was outstanding.We recommend it without equivocation.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyerman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Applewood Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. The accommodations were immaculate and beautiful, too. The breakfasts were delicious and contained excellent choicesby the owners. The hosts Nancy and Larry were warm and caring and Larry was most entertaining each morning at breakfast with his witty and funny jokes. We wholeheartedly recommend staying at this magnificent Bed and Breakfast when you are in Asheville, NC!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finetravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days (2 days in the guest house which we found to be spacious and charming.) The last day was in the granny smith room which was a little small but Nancy and Larry took excellent care of us no matter where we were laying our heads. The breakfast was delicious all three mornings. I would definitely stay here again if i am in Ashville.

Room Tip: Guest house in the back was perfect for a couple looking for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hosts Larry and Nancy run a great B&B with great competence and some great humor. The house is lovely, the breakfasts amazingly good, and the location is great for exploring Asheville. It's close to downtown which is an amalgam of Southern charm and hippiness (in a good way). One nearby restaurant serves "Southern fried barbecued tofu"! But back to the B&B: Nancy and Larry serve wine in the late afternoon and many guests gather for a social hour at that time--a great way to meet fellow travelers. I can't think of any way we were disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobBurkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
#2 of 68 in Asheville
718 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
257 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
777 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $162 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing