We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Applewood Manor is the model of a great B&B. My wife and I own one in East Texas and we should know”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great facilities but Nancy and Larry made it one of the most enjoyable that we have ever experienced. Don't miss it if you are in that beautiful area! We stayed in the guest cottage, which was like our home away from home. The food was superb and the fellowship was outstanding.We recommend it without equivocation.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyerman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 626 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Applewood Manor Inn Bed and Breakfast was wonderful. The accommodations were immaculate and beautiful, too. The breakfasts were delicious and contained excellent choicesby the owners. The hosts Nancy and Larry were warm and caring and Larry was most entertaining each morning at breakfast with his witty and funny jokes. We wholeheartedly recommend staying at this magnificent Bed and Breakfast when you are in Asheville, NC!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finetravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days (2 days in the guest house which we found to be spacious and charming.) The last day was in the granny smith room which was a little small but Nancy and Larry took excellent care of us no matter where we were laying our heads. The breakfast was delicious all three mornings. I would definitely stay here again if i am in Ashville.

Room Tip: Guest house in the back was perfect for a couple looking for privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 261traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hosts Larry and Nancy run a great B&B with great competence and some great humor. The house is lovely, the breakfasts amazingly good, and the location is great for exploring Asheville. It's close to downtown which is an amalgam of Southern charm and hippiness (in a good way). One nearby restaurant serves "Southern fried barbecued tofu"! But back to the B&B: Nancy and Larry serve wine in the late afternoon and many guests gather for a social hour at that time--a great way to meet fellow travelers. I can't think of any way we were disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobBurkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a wonderful property operated by and Nancy Merrill and their "woof" ambassador's Maggie and Lila. It is convenient to downtown and less than a 20 minute drive to the Biltmore estate. The hosts are absolutely great and work hard to make a visit memorable. The breakfasts are excellent as is the hospitality and ambiance. The home dates to 1912 and has been operated as a B&B since 1987 making it one of Asheville's longest continuous operating B&B's. We stayed in two different rooms on our visit and both were first rate, particularly the Winesap Suite which is really like having a small apartment. We certainly will return and recommend it to anyone coming to Asheville.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Northern Spy is the smallest and Winesap the largest.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimpat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Undoubtedly the most accommodating and lovely place we have ever stayed.
Being vegans, it's often very difficult to find anywhere able to cater to our dietary needs, however Larry, Nancy and co. were extremely thoughtful in providing us with nourishing and tasty meals every morning. It is wonderfully situated both in regards to proximity to downtown Asheville (15 minute walk) and its surroundings of the gorgeous neighbourhood of Montford. Thankyou so much for having us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelBaskerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Everything about Applewood Manor Inn is A1 but the hosts, Nancy and Larry, make it A1+. From Nancy's enthusiastic welcome to Larry's delightful breakfast service, these people know how to host! Beautiful restored home, thoughtful amenities, lovely outside garden, wine at 5...who could ask for more? Don't miss this one!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TJY118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,272 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
884 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $198 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing