We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Comfort at Applewood Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakton, VA
1 review
“Relaxation and Comfort at Applewood Manor”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed at the B&B for seven nights -- a long vacation in the NC mountains with my husband and dog. We had a wonderful stay -- the owners Nancy and Larry were so friendly, courteous and treated us like family.

Nancy is a wonderful cook and loves to cook for guests. She is willing to accommodate nutritional requests and any other requests you may have.

They both did a wonderful job of making us feel at ease and gave us privacy when we needed it.

The inn itself is beautiful -- we stayed in the private cottage, which was also decorated very nice and very comfortable (and quiet).

The grounds are kept well-manicured and they have plenty of space to sit outside and relax.

We had a wonderful time and were very happy staying there.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the owners and the privacy
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melmar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
479
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I highly recommend the Applewood Manor Inn!! Nancy and Larry offered us the hospitality of old friends, and the home was so comfortable we felt instantly at ease!

We stayed at another Bed and Breakfast during the first few days of our honeymoon, and had a great experience, but were SO glad to spend several days relaxing in quiet and comfort at the Applewood! We spent the last 2 days of our honeymoon there and wish we had stayed longer - we'll definitely be going back for anniversaries and weekend getaways!


Thank you Larry and Nancy for an incredible visit!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BorderlandState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We had a wonderful anniversary stay in early June. Nancy and Larry were so accommodating and thoughtful. She helped order roses to surprise me at my husband's request, and they made sure to allow us to have breakfast at our own table so we could enjoy each other and not have to socialize.

Breakfast is most amazing! My favorite is the lemon pound cake that Nancy makes. She toasts up the slices and serves with cream cheese. We had some really yummy omelets and out of this world Dutch Babies.

The Granny Smith room was wonderful and had its own porch. (I will mention that the shower is a stall, and if you are a larger-sized person, you may want to ask to book the rooms with larger bathtub showers. It was a fine size for us.)

We definitely will be back on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I are in our late 20's and we really enjoyed our stay at the Applewood. He was skeptical about staying at a B&B, but this trip changed his mind! Nancy and Larry are such an accommodating couple -- they entertain with low-key style at breakfast and then again at "social hour." I am not sure about other B&B owners but these were not invasive at all. There was just the right balance of interacting and privacy, which I can imagine doesn't happen everywhere. Nancy and Larry give you free reign of the public areas, which have a DVD collection and a flatscreen TV with fireplace. Also, check in and check out was a sinch. There were no hidden fees or any of that junk.
The property is beautiful; they have recently landscaped the grounds, and it is complete with hammock, tree-swing, and sitting veranda with lovely rock wall. I used the tree swing and felt like a kid again! There is a private drive so that you do not have to park on the street, which is a plus. I drove by one car parked on the road that had the rearview mirror hanging off where someone had side-swiped it; so glad that wasn't mine!!
It was our anniversary, and Nancy gave us a potted violet and touching card as a way to remember our stay. I am going to try to keep that thing alive as long as I possibly can in honor of Nancy! If we return to Asheville, I'll give you one guess as to where I'll be staying.....

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CattyLak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We had an excellent visit at the Applewood Manor Bed & Breakfast. Our hosts were extremely warm and accomodating. I loved the special touches like the afternoon snacks, coffee at 7:30am and chocolates left on our pillows. I found this B&B to be a great value.

  • Liked — friendliness of hosts, great food
  • Disliked — small room (but we also picked the least expensive)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rmreiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a weekend in Asheville and stayed at the Applewood for two nights. This is a wonderful Inn run by the most gracious hosts. Nancy and Larry really know how to make their guests feel welcome and at home.

We had a suite on the 3rd floor which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Upon arrival the ice bucket was full, bottle water provided and fresh flowers in the room. The bathroom was large and they provided all the amenities one would need. I especially enjoyed the vanity and chair where I could sit and apply my makeup! We also had fluffy white robes for our use during the stay.

The home is beautiful and the food divine. One could get spoiled being served breakfast everyday.

It was a wonderful stay, we enjoyed the other guests staying in the Inn and hopefully will go back soon.

Laurie and Roger

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lruss71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2008

When we first arrived, Nancy made us feel comfortable and at home. She anticipated any questions and we felt really relaxed that the residence was there for us to enjoy.

We stayed in the Cortland Cottage which is separate from the main house and very private. It was cool outside, but the Tudor heater kept the cottage toasty and warm. Had 2 great nights of sleep and the king bed was cozy. The neighborhood is very peaceful.

Breakfast was outstanding. Try the Dutch Bunnies - Yummmm! Make sure Larry doesn't forget to light the candles, that's part of his job! (That was a story!)

Having stayed at many, many, many B&B's, this is the first time I've experienced one that says they have afternoon tea, and then actually had it available and set up to encourage you to join in. Actually, it is tea, wine, cheese and crackers and was a nice social event to talk to other guests about what they did that day and get ideas for other things to do in the area. Of course, we had been asked our wine preferences ahead of time, and the choice our hosts made was perfect! If socializing isn't your thing, there are rooms and decks all around the house where you can go off on your own.

Don't miss this one, the rates are reasonable and the value is great.

J. & R. Raleigh, NC

  • Liked — Hosts made you feel at home and wanted you to enjoy the residence.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachbumm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
756 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
546 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing