We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Next time this will be our destination, not just an overnight visit.”
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #26 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Next time this will be our destination, not just an overnight visit.”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have stayed in Asheville several times, but never at a Bed and Breakfast. Albemarle Inn was a wonderful surprise! We loved the home, our room, the food, and especially the guests, employees and owners. We will definitely make this a destination next time so we have time to enjoy all of the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    43
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
75
473
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had a great time and stay at the Ablemarle Inn. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful in assisting us with restaurant recommendations and sites and places to visit in the Asheville area. This was our first trip to Asheville and it was a memorable experience. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious and it was nice to get together in the early evening for a glass of wine or blueberry homemade tea and some light snacks. We will definitely recommend this B&B to our friends and family. Thanks for making our stay so special!
Barbara and Bill Gablin

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57ragtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, essex u.k.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Besides the beautiful house, the lovely surroundings, and the delicious food, the one thing that makes this B & B a first choice must be the friendly and extremely accommodating owners and staff. The whole atmosphere was pleasant and easy-going, but totally professional at the same time.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B & B to anyone reading this write-up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We selected this Inn as the location for our weekend getaway to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It was definitely a great choice. The service was tremendous from check in to check out. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable & extremely helpful. The full service breakfasts were delicous down to the last bites! We would defintely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstrickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Albermarle Inn. The staff and owners were all very friendly without being too pushy, and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was fantastic, and we also enjoyed walking through the garden outside the Inn as well as taking the self-guided walking tour through the historic neighborhood. We stayed in the "Bartok Retreat," the room Hungarian composer Bela Bartok lived in while working on his Third Piano Concerto in 1944. There was a book with laminated copies of news articles published during his stay as well as letters he had written, presumably in the very room. All in all, a lovely place to stay, and all the better if you are a classical music buff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James75356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

While traveling from AZ to DE we spent one night at the Albemarle Inn since the Grove Park Inn was full. What a great find! The home has been beautifully restored, the accommodations were perfect. A huge 4 poster canopy bed (dreams of yesteryear) on 2nd floor at top of a magnificent staircase, quaint bath with clawfooted tub made our room fun.

Breakfast served on the sun porch was an excellent spread of "sweet" fruit and pastry complemented with fresh juice and coffee. Service from beginning to end could not have been better. We enjoyed this oasis, rich in history and couldn't help dreaming about how life in this magnificent home must have been 100 years ago. We would list this as a "must stay" when next in Asheville. Enjoy.....we sure did!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband surprised me with a 35th birthday weekend away in Asheville - he took care of all the details. I was grinning from ear-to-ear when we pulled up at the Albemarle Inn - it lived up to all my expectations and then some. Our room had a private balcony off the bathroom, on which we enjoyed a refreshing glass of wine after a long day of touring Asheville. The innkeepers were very helpful, suggesting restaurants and making reservations for us.

Upon our return, I was surprised to find out that my parents had stayed there as well, only a month before us, and they had a very similar experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Property: Albemarle Inn
Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing