We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay at Abemarle Inn”
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #25 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
“Two night stay at Abemarle Inn”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dennis and I had a wonderful two days/nights at the Albemarle Inn in Ashville. N.C.. We certainly enjoyed the Fall getaway. We enjoyed our bottle of wine, cheese and crackers that we had brought from our shopping trip and sat out on the large front porch enjoying the view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemmaheritier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    43
    13
    12
    8
See reviews for
76
479
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, GA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful Southern mansion. Beautiful location. Perfect for Fall getaways. Don't know how they will keep all the stars and diamonds, though. Do they have new owners? Very grouchy old man stalking around. We didn't feel very welcomed. Wine and appetizers very stingy--one glass of wine per person. Great breakfast food, but one sausage each? You get the feeling the owners are trying to scrimp and save and cut corners. Not bottled water. Very stingy with breakfast. Just not a comfortable and happy place compared to others we have enjoyed in Asheville. Basically not worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdnaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Arriving and walking into the house was like walking through Alice's looking-glass! Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, and the baked French toast for breakfast was wonderfully sinful. Drinks and hors d'oeuvres were enjoyable and relaxing on the big front porch overlooking the front yard. We even got to see a bear - an unexpected treat. Would highly recommend for a quiet vacation for two!

Room Tip: Loved the Juliet Room because it had the private balconly overlooking the front yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Albemarle Inn earlier this month. The owner and staff were super, our room was vintage and clean, the breakfast was out of this world and the Inn was up to date in some respects yet a step back in time in other respects which fit right in with the Biltmore Estate experience. A must!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this inn for 4 nights in late December. The inn was conveniently located in town, a few blocks from the Grove Park Inn. The facility was comfortable and quaint. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. A delightful breakfast was served each morning. The room was comfortable and clean. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blue72jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our three day stay at Albemarle Inn was great. The staff and owner-Rosemary were friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. They assisted us with getting around town with maps and suggestions for dinner. They also guided us to our destinations in North and South Carolina since this was our first visit to the area. Rosemary and Ashley offered evening snacks as we relaxed and visited on the porch with other guests. The three course breakfasts were exquisite. The Oak Room was charming and the entire house was lovely. This visit was our anniversary/retirement adventure to enjoy the mountains and sites. The only drawback was we wished we could have had more time to spend there. Perhaps another time...

Room Tip: We chose the Oak Room next to the porch as we are early risers and we enjoyed coffee early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The good:

The house is gorgeous, easy to get to from 240, breakfast is phenomenal, the staff (not the owners) is warm, friendly and helpful.

The bad:

1A. The owners were, well, chilly toward us. Not sure why. For example, we got back Friday night at 9:30 pm. The owner, Fabrizio, was standing in the doorway holding open the front door and staring at us as we parked and walked in. We couldn't see him well because he was silohuetted by back lighting. He didn't say a word until we were both inside the entryway and then simply said "I am the owner, Fabrizio". That's it. It felt really weird.

1B. The other owner, Rosemary, walked past us when we first walked in. She looked at us while we spoke to the young lady who greeted us, but didn't say anything. Our experience with other owner's of B&B's has been different in a more friendly way.

2. The shower in the "Vanity Fair" room has an inch or two of standing water at the end of your shower. I mentioned the problem to them on Saturday morning, but the problem was still there on Sunday. I imagine it has something to do with the age of the place; nonetheless, we paid over $1000 (including taxes) for 2 nights, so it's reasonable to expect a shower that drains.

3. There is a low step up into the bathroom. I slammed my toe into the step at night when the lights were off. No real harm was done, but it's a bit of a menace.

Bottom Line: We'll stay somewhere else next time we visit Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Central_Jersey_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm glad that you were pleased with the property and our staff, and that you so enjoyed my breakfasts during your stay! I apologize that you had some unsatisfactory issues. This is not the norm for our Albemarle inn guests, as you can see from nearly all other reviewers. Normally all guests feel properly welcomed & satisfied in our inn.
Your encounter with Fabrizio seems strange indeed.Being Italian, he has a very formal demeaner. Perhaps you misinterpreted him, and he merely wanted to introduce himself. Sorry for that awkwardness. He was standing at the door, as he had just locked it for the night, and upon seeeing you arrive-held it open for you. I'm sorry you felt unwelcomed by me as well. Initially, I walked past you in the parlour as you were in conversation with our Assistant Innkeeper since I did not want to be intrusive and interrupt. Immediately upon my return after carrying in the rest of my groceries, I walked over to you and profusely appologized for not initiallly greeting you. I personally gave you specific verbal & written directions to get to a drug store, and to your conference destination, as you had gotten so very lost on your way to the Inn. We had a lengthy & cheerful chat about your getting lost, and about gps systems! I personally greeted and served you in my kitchen uniform while cooking at breakfast in order to assure your speedy departure on Saturday morning. I greeted you again, later in the day, when I saw you, asking how you were enjoying your conference. I'm sorry you found my behavior unwelcoming and chilly.
I sincerely appologize for the drain issue not being addressed during your stay. It should have been resolved. I was not aware of it until another guest mentioned it to me, and it is now repaired. We always mention to guests about the step up at the bathroom threshold, and for them to mind their step. I'm sorry if we may not have pointed this out to you. It is understandable that with these issues you did not feel that you received good value during your stay. However, our records show that you did not pay a thousand dollars for your two night stay.While you stayed with us on a holiday weekend, during the high foliage season, our rate of $345 per night is comparable and in line with all the other bed and breakfasts in the area. When you next visit Asheville & stay elsewhere you will find this to be so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
872 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Property: Albemarle Inn
Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing