We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected judging by the rave reviews.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #25 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not what we expected judging by the rave reviews.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night as part of a long weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary. I had researched bed & breakfasts in the area for a while and chose this due to the many rave reviews. Unfortunately, we were a bit disappointed by the whole experience.
The home itself is beautiful and located at the end of a residential street within walking distance of Asheville which we enjoyed very much. The grand porch overlooking a landscaped yard is lovely. Durell and his wife, Cathy, were the interim hosts while the owners were away and Kerith took care of checking us in; she was very pleasant and helpful.

We stayed in the Ribbons & Roses room which is the first room on the left upon entering the home. It was rather plain as they had just recently renovated it so it looks nothing like what you see in some of the photos and it was surprisingly smaller than it looks in the photos, too. The bedroom and the bathroom were clean, though, which is a huge plus. We never heard any noise coming from beyond our door which was a concern since it was so close to the entrance. The noise came from above us and certainly not the fault of the hosts. But, the guests staying above us were so loud and because the home is older, the floors creak like crazy. We could easily hear one of the heavy-footed guests walking around and all the while we’re thinking their room must be huge because they’re doing a lot of walking. Not only that, they were sliding furniture around, too. This wasn’t during the day mind you, but later in the evening and I just found it to be terribly rude. Some people are just in their own world and never care to consider others. To add insult to injury, our room was quite cold. One reason for choosing this particular room was that it had a fireplace and I thought it would be so romantic, but we were told they had just shut down the gas to the fireplaces the day before. Our room was so cold that night. We did ring up asking if they could turn on the heat which they eventually did, but it took a very long time to feel the effects. Between the noisy guests upstairs and the cold room, it was neither a comfortable nor romantic night.

We woke up the next morning very tired, but looking forward to a yummy breakfast. HUGE disappointment. The first course was a fruit cup with a dollop of yogurt on top. The second course was a really bad, undercooked egg casserole and a couple of slices of bacon that had been reduced to tiny, crispy strips of fat. To end the breakfast, we were offered “picante cake” which sounded interesting, but could not believe when it was finally brought out – it was literally two small wedding cookies presented on an oversized plate. Now, I know wedding cookies because I love wedding cookies, but felt totally ripped off as these had nothing to do with picante and had nothing to do with cake. I was expecting maybe a corn bread with peppers or a spicy cake. I think there was a miscommunication in the kitchen. Regardless, breakfast was a bust. The bedroom was a bust and for $200 for one night - what a rip-off. The next two nights, we stayed at a very nice hotel that was warm and cozy and quiet with a much better breakfast.

One thing to note regarding the recent (2013) 5-star rave reviews is that several of them are posted by travelers who have no other reviews, but I guess we all have to start somewhere. Just something to consider prior to making a decision. All in all, Asheville is a great place to visit and don’t forget to take in the Biltmore – it’s spectacular.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet room with privacy, book one on the 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid heari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whereigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We were very concerned to learn about your unsatisfactory stay at our 100 + year old Southern Mansion Bed and Breakfast during your recent stay in Ashevile. It is obvious that a Bed and Breakfast stay in an older home is not for everyone. We were pleased to learn that you did, in the end, have a nice stay at a quiet and comfortable Hotel in Asheville upon your departure from our Inn. We only wish that you had expressed your concerns and issues to us during your stay. Perhaps at that time we may have been able to address and correct these issues and concerns to your satisfaction.
While we do applaud you for your lengthy experience as an online reviewer, and we see that you actually have taken the time to review a national fast-casual chain food outlet, we must say that we disagree with you on the fact that first time reviewers are not so accurate in their perceptions.
Often, it is a nice and positive experience that entices a bed & breakfast guest to write their first online review! We offer our appologies for your discomfort... and again our regrets that we could not have corrected the issues to your have made your stay more pleasant, as we did not know of them until you posted them on your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    43
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
74
471
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just back from a weekend in Asheville, staying at the Albemarle
The rooms were clean, comfortable and very nicely appointed, but the friendliness and quality of the breakfasts make this a place I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfasts or the social hour ..... Very good and different to any normal hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Room was nice, there was no mention of any Spa service, We barley saw the owners, maybe once. The food was awefull. The breakfast consisted of a couple of strawberries, with a plop of yogart on top, the egg caserole tasted like eggbeaters with pre cooked asparagus in it, frozen sausage links and white toast. I would not recommend staying here, foe the price, you are better off at the Grove Park Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are sorry to read that your stay at the Albemarle Inn was not the wonderful experience you had anticipated, especially since you had written the following quote in our guestbook: "Dear Rosemary & Fabrizio, Thank you so very much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a lovely stay, and plan to return again soon." We don't understand why you wrote that you did not meet the owners, as we specifically remember greeting you when you arrived to check in 4 hours in advance of our stated check-in time. As well, we spoke with you during our evening refreshment service, in the morning, and upon your departure.
We are sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast. Many other guests that were served the same foods as you, on the morning of your stay, had only wonderful comments about the breakfast. We use fresh, high quality, ingredients, often purchased at our local Farmers Market. It is unfortunate that you did not percieve them to be so. While we serve a specific daily menu each morning, our breakfast servers always offer to guests the opportunity to order an alternative meal, if they do not like or are allergic to the breakfast offered. We wish that you would have asked for a dish more to your liking than to have accepted the Souffle`. Guests are offered a choice of toasted breads, and are served what they request. Once again, we offer our appologies that you were not happy with our services, meals, and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Absolutely beautiful, stately old home in a nice neighborhood in Asheville. Rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was great - on a bright, cheery sun porch. Lots of nice spaces around the home to sit and relax. Getting out and walking around the neighborhood, admiring the beautiful homes and gardens, was an added plus. Less than 2 miles to downtown Asheville, and a very easy drive to the Biltmore Estate - about 4 miles to the estate entrance. Substitute hosts Durell and Cathy couldn't have been nicer and took excellent care of us during the absence of the regular hosts.

Room Tip: Juliet's Chamber has a fantastic balcony overlooking the front porch of the house. (And getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flybyweyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have stayed in many BnBs but this one was superb. Durell and Kathy were interim hosts and were so very warm and welcoming we felt right at home. Great breakfasts and amenities. Our room was excellent and very well kept. Would definetly stay there next time in Asheville.

Room Tip: We stayed in royal hideaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

A spur of the moment birthday getaway landed my husband and me in this cozy but far from small Albemarle Inn. Fabrizio and Rosemary along with their staff including visiting inn keepers were warm, friendly and ready to answer any questions for first timers in Asheville. The gourmet breakfasts on the sun porch over looking the beautifully manicured gardens were extraordinary as each was picture perfect as well as delicious. The charm of the Albemarle Inn and it's easy access to the famous Grove Park Inn, magnificent Biltmore and the eclectic downtown makes this B & B a hidden gem!

Room Tip: Last minute reservation so only first floor available, however, quiet and no steps to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Albermarle Inn and enjoyed it immensely! Each room is spotless, comfortable and inviting. Fabrizio and Rosemary are friendly and attentive to all your needs. We enjoyed the social hour sitting by the fireplace with a glass of wine and scrumptious cheese and olives along with a delectable homemade aspargus appetizer that melts in your mouth! Fabrizio was very nice and attentive noticing if we thought the music was too loud or gathering an additional plate as we shared the d'oeuvres. The bedroom and bathroom are very spacious yet quaint in decor (including an incredible relaxing bath in the Victorian claw-footed tub). Rosemary served each delicious breakfast course out on the veranda with the sun shining in on us for a perfect start to our day. Thank you for the wonderful heart-felt hospitality, Fabrizio and Rosemary. We hope to see you again when we visit my nephew and his family in Asheville. Fino a quando ci incontrevemo di nuovo...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Reynolds Room (I particularly like the Victorian claw-footed bathtub), but all thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Property: Albemarle Inn
Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing