We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful residence”
Review of Albemarle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albemarle Inn
Ranked #22 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a charming place to relax and unwind. Room was light and airy. Breakfasts were wonderful. What a delightful host and hostess to meet and chat with at their 6 pm wine and cheese. Nice touch. Recommend for anyone traveling to Asheville.

Room Tip: Rooms are in a historic inn but well kept up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 733 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I felt like Cinderella at the ball. The house is absolutely beautiful and is immaculate. The guest rooms are very tastefully furnished and are extremely comfortable. There are not enough good words for the staff. Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable . The owners are very hands on with the daily operations and are extremely friendly. I would recommend this B&B on a very high level.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. The Garden room has 2 queen beds and will accomodate more people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

With one day's notice, the Albemarle was not only able to accomodate us, but gave us a break on their standard rate. Our room was on the first floor, which at first seemed a little odd, but the large sliding pocket door was charming and we were even closer to the beautiful living and dining rooms, where afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeurvers and morning breakfast is served. The home and grounds are gorgeous and so well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and our experience was a thoroughly positive one.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not only were our hosts extremely pleasant and helpful, the other guests were equally pleasant. The breakfasts were scrumptious and plentiful and the location was so easy for getting here and there in town. Our bed was super-comfy and boy, did I feel rested!! The room we had was on the first floor (I have issues with walking) and was arranged so that access to the closet and bath was very easy. We'll go back someday I hope!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny-Gretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I travelled from overseas to see the beautiful fall foliage in October and were not disappointed. We chose the Albemarle Inn as it looked to have the atmosphere we were looking for and we were very pleased and impressed. The new owners were very welcoming and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The Oak Room was very comfortable and quiet. We stayed in a number of B&B's on our trip and would say Rosemary's breakfasts were the best out of them all. Thank you Rosemary! Compliments to all the staff as well. Also, Fabrizio was to my mind a very professional Innkeeper, polite, helpful, welcoming - Success to you both.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and complements on the breakfasts! It is such nice and appreciative guests such as yourselves that make it a pleasure to be an Innkeeper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to the Albemarle Inn over this past weekend and loved the property. We booked what seems like the last room in the last B&B we could find with a reservation this weekend. I guess many other people wanted to go leaf peeping too!

We stayed on the ground floor in the Oak Room. I was a little worried that it would be noisy since it was right off of the main rooms of the house, but we couldn't hear a thing. We are early risers, so maybe that helped as well.

The bed was super comfy. The only negative is that the room got pretty hot during the night. We never got aroung to reporting it, so it may be something they can fix. We opened the window, but that didn't seem to help much.

The best thing about this Inn is the breakfast. The pastries are amazing and so is the rest of the breakfast! The company is friendly and the atmosphere beautiful.

We really enjoyed ourselves on this trip. The Inn is really close to the Grove Park Inn, so we were able to enjoy an evening there by the fireplace before coming back to the Albemarle Inn.

If we could afford it, we would be back more often. I think the prices are high everywhere around town around this time due to the peak leaf season.

Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and your overall praises for the Albemarle Inn. We truly are pleased that you loved our breakfasts so much!
We do appologize for the heat in your room being too high overnight. We only wish you had let us know this while you were here. As you may recall, the peak foliage weekend coincided with the beginning of the temperature drops at night time. So we activated our whole house heating system for the first time of the season. We feel badly, since we now realize that we neglected to show you how to adjust the system controls in your room! Believe me, we are making sure that each and every guest knows how to control the climate from now on!
We are sorry that you gave us a value rating of only 3. We try to offer good value to our guests, with a nice breakfast, evening refreshments, and directions, guidance and assistance with dinner suggestions and reservations. However, the foliage season here in western North Carolina is one of our busiest, and the rates during this time are normally higher. For best value, some guests do travel mid-week, if possible, and try to take advantage of many property's special offers & last minute price breaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nicely decorated rooms. Warm and welcoming entrance with beautiful staircase. Very clean facility. Beds were comfortable. We stayed in the Bartok's retreat bathroom ceiling was low in areas, both wife and I bumped our heads getting ready for bed. Bathtub was small and was enclosed with a shower curtain that wanted to cling to you as you took your shower. Wonderful breakfast with poached pear, French toast, cake or scones and fresh brewed coffee and tea. New owners, if you have a gift certificate call for room reservations instead of booking on line.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarleinnkeepers, Owner at Albemarle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Inn overall and liked our breakfasts!
We thank you for stating that if a guest wants to use a gift certificate, it is best to contact the inn directly rather than booking online. If we had had the opportunity to speak to you about your choice of Bartok's Retreat, we would have clearly explained about the very, very low ceiling over the tub in the bathroom, and allowed you to make your decision to stay in that room or not. Our website states the "cozy bath has a dormer roof..." and we make clear when speaking to a guest that this could be uncomfortable for you. If so, then we would suggest a different room, as we have others with higher bathroom ceilings, or with separate showers. Also, I recall at the time that your online booking, countered with your Gift Certificate redemption created a mix up with our payment processing system! This has been resolved since your stay, and we again appologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 39 in Asheville
567 reviews
North Lodge on Oakland
#19 of 39 in Asheville
135 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 39 in Asheville
887 reviews
Historic Montford
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
Carolina Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 39 in Asheville
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albemarle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albemarle Inn

Address: 86 Edgemont Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-1544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $239 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albemarle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AAA 4-Diamond romantic period mansion offers elegant guest rooms with pampering down duvets and fine linens, antique soaking tubs (or 2-person whirlpool) with fragrant bath products. Enjoy a 3-course breakfast at private tables on the sunporch and afternoon refreshments on the veranda or by the fire. Minutes to Biltmore, downtown restaurants and shops and The Blue Ridge Parkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albemarle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albemarle Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing