We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant and comfortable”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Gorgeous, historic B&B ... Stayed in the "Hyde Park" suite -very roomy and elegant. Breakfasts were delicious - innovative and very tasty. Valerie, the Innkeeper, was gracious and extremely helpful. Lovely stay in every way. We will definitely go back.
KC in Raleigh, NC

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank professorRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
115
817
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I awaited with great anticipation to visit this B&B. I had done loads of research and I love the Trip Advisor site because the blogs are usually right on.

I knew we were in trouble when we were running late from the time I had originally emailed the owner of our arrival. She called me on my cell phone to find out where we were. Feeling slightly like a tardy child, I chalked it up to concern. But for the most part, I felt like a child, rather than a paying guest during my stay here. Breakfast at 9:00am sharp only, no menu alterations (unless previously agreed up), doors locked by 7:00, use the proper coffee cup, and, oh by the way, if you use make up, don't wipe your face on the towels. Frankly, I don't really like to go on holiday and feel that way. The breakfast was dissapointing also.

The B&B itself was nice, but it is an entire experience that ellicits the feeling of wanting to return. I don't think I would return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank maggie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbingtonGreen, Owner/Innkeeper at Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
We at Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn are pleased that online reviews and individual B&B websites are used extensively by guests in making decisions about where to spend their limited and valuable vacation time.
We understand that every B&B traveler wants to make the choice that will best suit them and their particular needs. Room photos and descriptions, inn style and location are all important criteria in making your choice.
Additionally, just about every B&B website will also have specific information about breakfast: when and where it is served; general or specific descriptions about type of menu; and how any of your dietary issues can be accommodated.
Another beneficial page on most websites will be "Inn Policies". There, each B&B will tell you about the methods that are important to how the Inn operates. If you find that the information on these pages is clear and suits your needs, then you'll most likely be very pleased with your BB stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

The Abbington Green B&B is just what you'd expect in a gentile, southern city like Asheville: gracious host, sinfully delicious breakfasts, comfortable, well-appointed rooms and beautiful gardens. It's location made it easy to get to great restaurants downtown and to the Biltmore.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrassmidlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This is a really great place to stay. We were in Asheville for a wedding and to celebrate our own anniversary. We found Abbington Green on line and just knew it would be right for a special getaway. The first thing you notice on arrival are the English-style gardens that are just beautiful. The rooms are even more amazing. We stayed in the Regents Park room, very comfortable and cozy. The breakfasts were sumptuous. And then there is Valerie, who makes you feel more like family than a guest. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We will definitely come here again.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beer2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Arrived in Asheville, NC after an 8 hour drive from Washington DC. Found Cumberland Circle (location of B&B) and were a bit dismayed upon seeing some of the surrounding houses. We drove up the gravel driveway and made our way to the front entrance to be greeted by owner and hostess, Valerie. Once we stepped inside of Abbington Green all our concerns were soothed away by the gracious hostess. The refurbished historic home is not only beautifully decorated, but warm, inviting and as cozy as an English country house. Valerie is a natural at making guests feel most welcome and "at home". Our accomodations were "up graded" to the Hyde Park Suite located behind the main house. The two room suite with luxurious bath was absolutely beautiful with every detail worthy of note from the sumptious king size bed to the most thoughtful bath amenities. Breakfast at Abbington Green is a total euphoric experience which leaves one wanting to just sit on the deck over looking the English gardens and while away the time in satisfied contentment. Excellent, excellent, excellent.

  • Liked — Accomodations, hostess and brakfast
  • Disliked — The fact that B&B's in general charge the same rate day two when linen, etc is not changed second day. However, this B&B provides plenty of towels.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The scene is set for a wonderful experience as you drive through bucolic Asheville, North Carolina to reach the secluded neighborhood where Abbington Green is located. Exuding British and American hospitality in every room and feature, Innkeeper Valerie Larrea has transformed an early 20th Century mansion into an elegant, relaxing environment with inviting and beautifully decorated guest rooms. The breakfasts served on fine English China are breakfast comfort food at their best.

The piece de resistance of Abbington Green is its fantastic English gardens. Winner of numerous awards, the gardens provide an English country house feeling of a world apart. Abbington Green is a must for visitors to Asheville, and Asheville is fortunate to have this wonderful santuary.

  • Liked — Elegant comfort and food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We needed a short and restful getaway and we found it at Abbington Green. Valerie, the owner, met us at the door and was very gracious. Our room was lovely and the whirpool tub was a nice treat at the end of they day! We have enjoyed staying at B & B's over the years and this one was everything we hoped for. The gardens surrounding the inn are beautiful. The breakfast that is served each morning on fine china was absolutely delicious with something different each morning. Valerie is very knowledgeable about the area and suggested many things for us to do during our stay. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.0 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
0.8 mi away
Chestnut Street Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 66 in Asheville
5,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa

Property: Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Address: 46 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History. Style. Romance. Located in the Historic Montford District. AAA 4-Diamond Inn and prize-winning English gardens. Luxuriously appointed suites and rooms: all have king-size bed, fireplace, individual room climate controls: air conditioning and heat, luxury bath with whirlpool and shower, towel warmer, HD TV + movie channels. Free WiFi.Pet-friendly suites. Free off-street parking. Walk to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing