We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Ranked #4 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 10, 2007

We had always wanted to visit the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC and finally got there in September for a long weekend. I checked various websites and then confirmed reviews on TripAdvisor and found the Abbington Green B&B. It is absolutely wonderful. The house and rooms are charming. Valerie, the owner, bought and re-did the house by herself and is the amazing chef. She is a true anglophile - the English feel of the house is everywhere - lots of pictures, books, momentos, the garden, etc. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the breakfasts amazing. It is very conveniently located to everything you would want do see and do in the Asheville area - besides the estate, where we spent a day and a half (check out the ticket that lets you arrive at 3 and come back the next day for free), we drove on the Blue Ridge Parkway which is amazing, visited the folk art center, had a drink in the famous Grove Park Inn and spent a day climbing around Chimney Rock Park and touring Lake Lure. Valerie has great suggestions for restaurants in the area. This is just a wonderful place to stay!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2007

The directions we recieved from Valerie made it easy to get to. There was plenty of parking. The beautiful web sight photos were exactly what we found when we arrived. The room was as we expected and more. The breakfast's were great and almost to pretty to eat. I loved setting on the front porch and just relaxing after a fun day touring the area. I will stay again when I travel to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCTravler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was a great place to spend a leisurely weekend. The web photos and descriptions were accurately portrayed. The bedrooms were beautiful and immaculate, the hospitality warm and the breakfasts were something to behold. Her gardens are remarkable, even for November. We will definitely stay here again. Guy & Elaine McCall

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gregnlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I own a flat in London which has now been let long term, so we've been sorely missing our frequent visits to Britain. Valerie and Abbington Green to the rescue. We had a delightful two night stay here on our way north to catch the fall foliage and almost wished we could stay put. Abbington Green is a lovely B&B was a friendly innkeeper. The rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. There were lamps everywhere one might need one - a feature often missing even in pricey hotels. And the breakfasts were better than British - filling, but not too many calories and were clearly freshly prepared with care. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mclime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I were very impressed reading the fabulous reviews on Innkeeper Valerie, at the Abbington Green. Having the opportunity to meet Valerie, experience her gracious hospitality, and taste her gourmet cooking, became the main reason we booked a room at the inn.
When we arrived, we were extremely disappointed to find out that Valerie was on vacation and we would not be meeting her.
We made our reservations through Valerie and also sent her e-mails about our confirmation. She never mentioned that she would not be greeting us when she arrived, and that she was going on vacation. My husband and I, along with other guests, felt that we had been mislead.
The Abbington Green, however, is a charming B & B with a wonderful location.

Anita & Marc
Pompano Beach, FL

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

There are so many wonderful things to say about this inn. It is conveniently located near the downtown area and near the interstate in a wonderful residential area of West Asheville. The inn is lovely and the hospitality extraordinary. The four days that we were there the inn was managed by intinerant innkeepers, Susan and Jim, and it was run like it was their own home. The owner gave me lots of tips of where to dine and visit in the Asheville area as did Susan and Jim. Not that we needed to dine much because breakfast everyday was a feast!!! The inn is beautifullly decorated. We stayed at in a suite is the back house with a private entrance. The room was very tastefully decorated with quality at every turn. You can't miss with a stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pumpduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

The Abbington Green is in a very nice location. Our room was very comfortable, with a fireplace and wireless. The breakfasts, served by Jim and Susan, were excellent. A great place to stay when visiting Asheville.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank araives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,638 reviews
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
252 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
The Reynolds Mansion
#3 of 39 in Asheville
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa

Address: 46 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $258 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History. Style. Romance. Located in the Historic Montford District. AAA 4-Diamond Inn and prize-winning English gardens. Luxuriously appointed suites and rooms: all have king-size bed, fireplace, individual room climate controls: air conditioning and heat, luxury bath with whirlpool and shower, towel warmer, HD TV + movie channels. Free WiFi.Pet-friendly suites. Free off-street parking. Walk to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing