We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Britain in the Blue Ridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit of Britain in the Blue Ridge”
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I own a flat in London which has now been let long term, so we've been sorely missing our frequent visits to Britain. Valerie and Abbington Green to the rescue. We had a delightful two night stay here on our way north to catch the fall foliage and almost wished we could stay put. Abbington Green is a lovely B&B was a friendly innkeeper. The rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. There were lamps everywhere one might need one - a feature often missing even in pricey hotels. And the breakfasts were better than British - filling, but not too many calories and were clearly freshly prepared with care. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mclime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
112
800
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I were very impressed reading the fabulous reviews on Innkeeper Valerie, at the Abbington Green. Having the opportunity to meet Valerie, experience her gracious hospitality, and taste her gourmet cooking, became the main reason we booked a room at the inn.
When we arrived, we were extremely disappointed to find out that Valerie was on vacation and we would not be meeting her.
We made our reservations through Valerie and also sent her e-mails about our confirmation. She never mentioned that she would not be greeting us when she arrived, and that she was going on vacation. My husband and I, along with other guests, felt that we had been mislead.
The Abbington Green, however, is a charming B & B with a wonderful location.

Anita & Marc
Pompano Beach, FL

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Valerie was not there
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

There are so many wonderful things to say about this inn. It is conveniently located near the downtown area and near the interstate in a wonderful residential area of West Asheville. The inn is lovely and the hospitality extraordinary. The four days that we were there the inn was managed by intinerant innkeepers, Susan and Jim, and it was run like it was their own home. The owner gave me lots of tips of where to dine and visit in the Asheville area as did Susan and Jim. Not that we needed to dine much because breakfast everyday was a feast!!! The inn is beautifullly decorated. We stayed at in a suite is the back house with a private entrance. The room was very tastefully decorated with quality at every turn. You can't miss with a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pumpduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

The Abbington Green is in a very nice location. Our room was very comfortable, with a fireplace and wireless. The breakfasts, served by Jim and Susan, were excellent. A great place to stay when visiting Asheville.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank araives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My parents, brother and myself stayed here for 3 nights to visit the Biltmore and see the fall color. The owner was on vacation, but had Inn keepers Jim & Susan there to greet us and show us around when we arrived. They were both a delight and had helpful information about the area. The breakfasts were great and the rooms were very nice. All are decorated with English detail and very clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The food and rooms.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kscak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2007

The Abbington is a lovely Inn with nice amenities, i.e. a flat screen TV in the bedroom. The furnshings are a bit on the formal side but the owner is lovely. I did not like the breakfasts at all. Nothing healthy to eat - everything loaded with sugar, so I had a palin bowl of cereal while everyone else at the (communal) table chowed down.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sasha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2007

My husband and I decided to get away for a "just-the-2-of-us" weekend and stayed 2 nights at Abbington Green. The B&B was easy to book, easy to find, and the owner, Valerie, was charming and very knowledgeable about both the house (an old Victorian decorated to the brim in English style and originally designed by the architect that designed Biltmore Estate) and the Asheville area.
We took a walk through the beautiful little gardens at the B&B and the surrounding neighborhood Friday evening and ended with a game of chess in one of the sitting rooms on the main level with gentle music playing in the background.
Saturday we awoke for breakfast, promptly at 9 am. The family style seating in the dining room gave us ample opportunity to converse with the other guests and learn more of the Asheville area. A delightful meal of hot tea (or coffee), juice, fresh berries with cream, cheese strata, and sausage served on beautiful china kept us full for hours (we didn't even eat lunch til about 2 pm).
Saturday late evening we raided the guest fridge for complementary sodas and sat out on the second level porch surrounded by soft lights, enjoying the peacefulness.
We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
1.0 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chestnut Street Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Biltmore Village Inn
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,563 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sweet Biscuit Inn
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa

Property: Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Address: 46 Cumberland Circle, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History. Style. Romance. Located in the Historic Montford District. AAA 4-Diamond Inn and prize-winning English gardens. Luxuriously appointed suites and rooms: all have king-size bed, fireplace, individual room climate controls: air conditioning and heat, luxury bath with whirlpool and shower, towel warmer, HD TV + movie channels. Free WiFi.Pet-friendly suites. Free off-street parking. Walk to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing