We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we could stay forever!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek! The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek!
The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
The view below the cottage. Could it get any more beautiful? Acres of enjoyment and fun!
A beautiful shade garden below the cottage for you to wander in and fully appreciate the good life.
Sit and swing peacefully in the gazebo by the stream in the soft sunlit garden.
A beautiful shade garden to relish in peace and joy. A true slice of heaven.
A wonderful place to enjoy, relax and have a reprieve from the stresses of life.
How about a colorful, elegant country table to enjoy your meals? What a view of the distant hills!
A stunning granite mosaic floor by Rachel adorns the lower level of cottage.
A beautiful kitchen with glorious granite countertops and faux marble cabinets.
The dining area with a lovely mosaic granite floor called 'Stepping Stones through a Flower Garden.'
The door into the cottage and maybe into a new experience of insight, beauty, creativity and joy.
Your bedroom, a vision of comfort and beauty adorned with originals and murals by Rachel Clearfield.
A handmade wood armoire art piece with entertainment center including Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Enjoy!
What a place to enjoy a glass of wine while gazing at nature's glory and reflecting on life's good.
Elegance, beauty, art and color. All contribute to a wonderfully special and romantic time!
A bathroom so beautiful you won't want to leave! Artwork by Rachel Clearfield.
Italian marble mosaic 'Trees of Beauty' makes for a shower you'll never forget!
World class artist Rachel Clearfield's artwork adorn this exquisite bathroom.
The sunrise from the bedroom window. What a wonderful reminder of the gift of a new day!
The magical morning mist rolling it's way towards you!!
And people say Western skies are the best. Please! The Appalachians have it all!
Part of the family, our Arabian mare Hakima and our Shetland pony Princess.
During your stay the kids can meet new friends!
The whole family will have memories they'll never forget.
The Clearfield Cottage is spectacular anytime of the year! Celebrate those most special times here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tiffany M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could stay forever!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Loved our stay in this beautiful and artistic cabin. Everything was so cozy and inviting. After only a brief 3 nights, 2 days vacation to the area, we decided we simply must return for no less than a week next time. We did some hiking in the trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway, spent an evening at the Hot Springs Resort and Spa, and had an amazing time exploring Asheville, but all of that took us away from this beautiful cottage; neither of us wanted to leave. Thank you so much for sharing your oasis with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
Hi Tiffany,

Thank you for the great review! It was so wonderful having you both stay in the cottage. You did some really fun things during your stay but there's a ton more of things to do in this area. Hope you do return for a longer stay. If so, I have a list of some very cool places to see and visit that we'll share with you.

All the best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen D
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Enough to Calm the Toddler Soul :)”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This little beauty of a cottage is everything it is described to be. Nestled in a little valley with a streaming running behind it, the cottage looks out over beautiful willow trees and the two sweet horses on the property. Every inch of the cottage was decorated and created with love and art, from the beautiful paintings on every wall to the mosaic floors.

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary together as our little family (husband, myself and our wild and energetic 2 year old)- we were a little worried at first that the space would be a little too small to contain the wild little man, but it turns out it was exactly what we all needed. We spent hours sitting in the window nook looking out over the valley and reading our favorite books together. We had the owner's beautiful music playing throughout the day and just felt so at peace.

It's a bit of a drive to get to town, but we love it that way- we'd much prefer to be out in the country than in a big downtown.

If you're looking for peace, tranquility, and a little escape from the world, we HIGHLY recommend this place.

(PS- the owners are the sweetest!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Hi Kristen, it was soooooo nice having you and your wonderful family stay in our cottage. If the little one was happy we know we must be doing something right! Thank you for your very kind praises and extremely accurate description of what the cottage is all about. Hope to see you all again sometime! Best wishes, Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amelala
1 review
“Charming Cottage”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

If you're looking for a secluded destination still within 30 minutes of downtown Asheville, book this place!

This cottage is a relaxed and unique stay located in a twisty valley, just outside of Asheville, with more donkeys and horses and cows inhabitaing the valley than humans (or so it seemed)! It's a charming spot to say the least.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Hi Amelia, Thank you for such a lovely review! I agree, the cottage and it's location out in the country but so close to the cool city of Asheville, provides for the best of both possible worlds. Future interested guests should know also that there is a new city ordinance in Asheville which will not allow stand alone buildings like our beautiful cottage to be rented for a short term holiday retreat (we are not in the city limits.) If you can find a short term rental in town it most likely will be in someone's basement and really not that private. Thanks again Amelia for your visit and hope to see you again!
Best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2016
Hey Bryan, It was really a joy having you and Macy stay in the cottage! We appreciate your shout-out about the serenity of the cottage and it's location which is so close to the awesome city of Asheville but in such a beautiful, magical setting.
Thanks and all the best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elsaoden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a cute and peaceful Vista. The views around the cottage, this time of year, are beautiful plus the horse, pony and dog are all sweet. The cottage is modern contemporary with beautiful art work. I would definitely stay again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Hello Elsa and thank you for staying in our cottage and your lovely complimentary message!
All the best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_mccrazy
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind enchanting cottage”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I begin? This place is magical, charming, and so unique. Ron and Rachel have created a masterpiece. I had planned on going out hiking, but on arrival I couldn't bring myself to do anything but enjoy the cottage all day long. The cottage was clean and cozy. The walls are lined with beautiful artwork and special touches. Ron and Rachel are two of the sweetest people I've ever met. They were so warm and personable, offering me their herbs and fruit from the garden. The two horses were a delight, as well as their pup, Sparky. I cannot wait to come and stay again!

ps- I have never bathed in a more beautiful shower!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and charm
Liked least: I couldnt stay longer!
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Hi Amy, It was so great to have you as a guest and thank you sooooo much for an amazing, amazing, review! You said some very wonderful things for future guests to read and all Rachel and I can say is that we commend you as a person who sees and appreciates the esthetics and beauty of the cottage, our animals and the respectful care and kindness we try to give to all our guests to make their stay as special as possible.
Best wishes,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

don't even hesitate or think twice about booking this, just do it! You will not be disappointed at all. Words truly cannot describe how wonderful and beautiful this place was. You are nestled in the mountains with gorgeous views all around you, and from your bedroom window you have Mount Mitchell in the distance! Rachel and Ron are the kindest souls you will ever meet, you can definelty feel all the love that has been put into this cottage. (Thank you so much for the tomatoes from your garden, they were delicious!) It is so unique and relaxing, you honesty feel like you are in one of her paintings---so beautiful, serene and peaceful. The countryside is something you only see in books and magazines, and to be able to stay there was a treat. You have sparkie the friendliest dog who will occasionally great you, and we pulled in the park in front of the house and a pony and Arabian mare greeted us every day! This is not something you get to experience on a daily basis. The drive into town is closer than you'd think, and you are surrounded by adventures and things to do with Asheville close by and the blue ridge parkway. Do yourself a favor and stay here, it's a little slice of heaven here on earth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Seriously, nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Sarah, thank you so much for what is one of the most beautiful reviews Rachel and I have ever had. Your description of the cottage and you and your husband's stay was deeply moving. Thank you, thank you! Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing