We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Views”
other travelers have booked this property
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek! The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek!
The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
The view below the cottage. Could it get any more beautiful? Acres of enjoyment and fun!
A beautiful shade garden below the cottage for you to wander in and fully appreciate the good life.
Sit and swing peacefully in the gazebo by the stream in the soft sunlit garden.
A beautiful shade garden to relish in peace and joy. A true slice of heaven.
A wonderful place to enjoy, relax and have a reprieve from the stresses of life.
How about a colorful, elegant country table to enjoy your meals? What a view of the distant hills!
A stunning granite mosaic floor by Rachel adorns the lower level of cottage.
A beautiful kitchen with glorious granite countertops and faux marble cabinets.
The dining area with a lovely mosaic granite floor called 'Stepping Stones through a Flower Garden.'
The door into the cottage and maybe into a new experience of insight, beauty, creativity and joy.
Your bedroom, a vision of comfort and beauty adorned with originals and murals by Rachel Clearfield.
A handmade wood armoire art piece with entertainment center including Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Enjoy!
What a place to enjoy a glass of wine while gazing at nature's glory and reflecting on life's good.
Elegance, beauty, art and color. All contribute to a wonderfully special and romantic time!
A bathroom so beautiful you won't want to leave! Artwork by Rachel Clearfield.
Italian marble mosaic 'Trees of Beauty' makes for a shower you'll never forget!
World class artist Rachel Clearfield's artwork adorn this exquisite bathroom.
The sunrise from the bedroom window. What a wonderful reminder of the gift of a new day!
The magical morning mist rolling it's way towards you!!
And people say Western skies are the best. Please! The Appalachians have it all!
Part of the family, our Arabian mare Hakima and our Shetland pony Princess.
During your stay the kids can meet new friends!
The whole family will have memories they'll never forget.
The Clearfield Cottage is spectacular anytime of the year! Celebrate those most special times here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elsaoden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a cute and peaceful Vista. The views around the cottage, this time of year, are beautiful plus the horse, pony and dog are all sweet. The cottage is modern contemporary with beautiful art work. I would definitely stay again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Hello Elsa and thank you for staying in our cottage and your lovely complimentary message!
All the best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_mccrazy
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of a kind enchanting cottage”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I begin? This place is magical, charming, and so unique. Ron and Rachel have created a masterpiece. I had planned on going out hiking, but on arrival I couldn't bring myself to do anything but enjoy the cottage all day long. The cottage was clean and cozy. The walls are lined with beautiful artwork and special touches. Ron and Rachel are two of the sweetest people I've ever met. They were so warm and personable, offering me their herbs and fruit from the garden. The two horses were a delight, as well as their pup, Sparky. I cannot wait to come and stay again!

ps- I have never bathed in a more beautiful shower!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness and charm
Liked least: I couldnt stay longer!
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
Hi Amy, It was so great to have you as a guest and thank you sooooo much for an amazing, amazing, review! You said some very wonderful things for future guests to read and all Rachel and I can say is that we commend you as a person who sees and appreciates the esthetics and beauty of the cottage, our animals and the respectful care and kindness we try to give to all our guests to make their stay as special as possible.
Best wishes,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

don't even hesitate or think twice about booking this, just do it! You will not be disappointed at all. Words truly cannot describe how wonderful and beautiful this place was. You are nestled in the mountains with gorgeous views all around you, and from your bedroom window you have Mount Mitchell in the distance! Rachel and Ron are the kindest souls you will ever meet, you can definelty feel all the love that has been put into this cottage. (Thank you so much for the tomatoes from your garden, they were delicious!) It is so unique and relaxing, you honesty feel like you are in one of her paintings---so beautiful, serene and peaceful. The countryside is something you only see in books and magazines, and to be able to stay there was a treat. You have sparkie the friendliest dog who will occasionally great you, and we pulled in the park in front of the house and a pony and Arabian mare greeted us every day! This is not something you get to experience on a daily basis. The drive into town is closer than you'd think, and you are surrounded by adventures and things to do with Asheville close by and the blue ridge parkway. Do yourself a favor and stay here, it's a little slice of heaven here on earth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Seriously, nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Sarah, thank you so much for what is one of the most beautiful reviews Rachel and I have ever had. Your description of the cottage and you and your husband's stay was deeply moving. Thank you, thank you! Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina K
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful, unique and beautiful, very relaxing, personal and welcoming”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The property owners were very accommodating in any and all our needs, and made us feel so welcome and at home in the most lovely, charming way each day. Everything we could need was provided in the location, even fabulous restaurant and event recommendations, and the owners truly worked on the details to add special things to do in your spare time if you wanted. Also the location for visiting Asheville, Biltmore and the Blue Ridge mountains was perfect. It was lovely to come "home" to the cottage. The cottage grounds were so charming, inviting and unique and gave us things to explore, although we equally enjoyed staying in the cottage it was so beautiful, bright and the vistas inside and outside through the large windows were beautiful. This will be a lovely, unique experience you will remember and talk about for years to come. Highly recommended by my husband, me and our 17 year old daughter. The beautiful artwork and music bring all your dreams to life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the location and owners
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Hi Regina, thank you for such a wonderful, inspiring review. We really appreciate your mentioning our sincere hospitality and helpful suggestions to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks too for pointing out that the location of the cottage provides "the best of both possible worlds" in it's proximity to the fabulous city of Asheville with it's great restaurants and cultural events but also quite near all the eco-touristic possibilities that surround us as well. We're very happy that you, your husband and even your wonderful 17 year old daughter would recommend our "home away from home" to others. That says a lot.
Warm regards,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyZ...
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Oh, where do I begin. The cottage is absolutely stunning. We fell in love instantly at our arrival. The cottage is decorated with Rachel's beautiful arts. She has spent so much time on the cottage you can clearly see her talent in painting, her love of life and her consideration of the environment. I have learned a lot of how to live clean and consciously. And listening to Ron's music in the morning with a cup of coffee and spectacular view of Mount Mitchell was my favorite treat during our trip. It was so serene and soul soothing, which is exactly what we needed away from our busy life.
We enjoyed everything during our stay at the cottage and will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Dear Kimberly,

Gosh what a beautiful review! You really captured the spirit and experience of the cottage stay. We're so glad you were able to enjoy it all and have such a serene, soulful and soothing time. Thank you for sharing! It was wonderful having you and your husband stay.
Best wishes,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deerling2...
Garner, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something out of a storybook!”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

First I would like to say the cottage was beautfiul and a true living work of art, I have nothing negative to say about the cottage itself other than it could use more water pressure in the shower. The shower is definitely only meant for one person at the time. The grounds and house have been kept beautiful and we had no problem once at the property. The owners are great about getting back to you with any questions or concerns you have, and keep the home well stocked with furnishings and supplies (bring your own food).

The trip up the mountain was very tiring for novice mountain goers. Be prepared with food to cook in case you do not wish to come down the mountain. The drive up to the mountain once you turn off the main road is gravel and very curvy. We only left the house twice, once to get groceries after reaching the cottage and once the following day to go into Asheville to eat at Modesto and to site see. The final trip down the mountain was the best and most pleasant as we had already gone down twice, so it was far less harrowing.

Being that the cottage is in the middle of no-where (thank goodness for that)--there are some minor little friends that will be in and around the cottage. There were some tiny beetles who were likely there just for the compost and we saw two spiders, which were taken outside promptly.

We will be returning to this property and telling our friends about it, this place is wonderful and magical. I hope they always keep this place as perfect as it is now and if they ever sell I hope they give us a call!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view (mountains, stars, trees)
Liked least: water pressure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Hi Tiffany,

Thank you for such a detailed and lovely review. We feel honored that you celebrated your honeymoon in the cottage. The Clearfield Cottage has become a destination for honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays and special getaways. Thanks for pointing out the artistic beauty in the cottage as well as the beautiful grounds that surround it. Yes, the cottage is kind of in the boonies even though in reality it's only 1/2 hour from the very cool and vibrant city of Asheville. It's important for future interested guests to be aware that they are coming to an exquisitely beautiful area located in some of the oldest mountains in the world but that's very accessible. We're definitely not located at the top of the mountain but a short manageable drive on a very well maintained gravel road which with a little care is easily navigable even in a small car. Future guests do need to remember they won't be staying in a hotel in downtown Asheville but in a private chalet offering stunning views of the surrounding mountains. Yes, you might see a bug or two outside and occasionally inside, but that's part of being in the country and the rewards are great. One wonderful blessing is that we're in a location that the Zika mosquito doesn't exist and in fact any mosquitos are extremely rare in our area. Thanks again for coming, congratulations on your new marriage and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W
1 review
“Peaceful, beautiful get away”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This home was beautifully decorated, peaceful, and had great views. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the hammock by the creek and reading in the window seat. Because the owners make their music and art part of the experience, this is a great place to recharge creatively, as well.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Hi Amanda,
It was wonderful having you and Jeremy stay in the cottage. Thank you for pointing out some of the esthetic and peaceful amenities the cottage and it's surroundings can offer. We agree with you and have heard from many other guests that it's a great place to recharge.
Warm regards,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing