We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Not Tex-Mex”
Review of Chorizo - CLOSED

Chorizo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's Not Tex-Mex”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We went out looking for Tex-Mex and stumbled upon Chorizo. Unfortunately for us, Chorizo seems to be more of a semi-gourmet, Latin American fusion style of cuisine. The menu looked interesting, but we opted to head elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshubeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    131
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Go there hungry!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Barcelona omelet could be the best breakfast you'll ever have: flank steak on a massive serving of delicious scrambled eggs and other delicious touches. You have to stop swooning long enough to eat it while it's hot. I haven't moved on to other dishes yet, because it's hard to imagine something better than perfect. I'll try, though. Honest. Just not right away. I'm telling you: HEAVEN!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorCalJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a sample of the fare here on the Asheville Food Tour. The little bit I had was awesome, and the next time I am in Asheville I will be back for a full plate :-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jes2G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun and flavorful!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped in Asheville for a driving break on our way to Charleston, and Chorizo was one of the reasons we were glad we did! We had a delightful meal here. The atmosphere is definitely funky, with very unusual murals on the walls. The food is so interesting and truly delicious. I definitely don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmk4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at Chorizo after reading all the good reviews, however we were disappointed by the food, we ordered 4 different plates and only 1 was close to what was outlined in the menu. The mofongo was made with sweet plantains and cinnamon (unheard of).. Food was pricy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elenamt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorizo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing