We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and flavorful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chorizo

Chorizo
Ranked #108 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Mexican, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun and flavorful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped in Asheville for a driving break on our way to Charleston, and Chorizo was one of the reasons we were glad we did! We had a delightful meal here. The atmosphere is definitely funky, with very unusual murals on the walls. The food is so interesting and truly delicious. I definitely don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmk4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    131
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at Chorizo after reading all the good reviews, however we were disappointed by the food, we ordered 4 different plates and only 1 was close to what was outlined in the menu. The mofongo was made with sweet plantains and cinnamon (unheard of).. Food was pricy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elenamt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently went to Asheville for the Mountain Oasis festival. I found Chorizo on Tripadvisor and noted that it sounded like a good place to eat. We ate there for Saturday brunch. I had the Cuban Crepe and my boyfriend had some lamb dish. We were both extremely satisfied. We were seated immediately, the service was great and the prices were very reasonable. Excellent Latin food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmina0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Stopped in for appetizers.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

......on a beautiful fall early evening. We had seen this place several times, but it was usually packed and this being a weekday, not so much so we gave it a try and weren't disappointed. They have a menu with a lot of great sounding selections (including a paella), but we opted for the chicken nachos and an order of layered bean dip. It sounds pretty standard until you realize the food is local and fresh. Both dishes were spot on and I HIGHLY recommend trying the house made chipotle hot sauce. I was hoping they sold it by the bottle, but no such luck. Several Mexican beers are available as well as wine and other drinks, and the outdoor seating makes for great people (and dog) watching. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDHoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here prior to attending music events in Asheville on Sunday. I loved the atmosphere. The menu was a little over-whelming as there seemed to be too many choices that sounded very good. Our server made wonderful recommendations and both my wife and I were very happy with our selections. I felt the food had excellent flavor without being overly spicy. I will definitely be coming back on my next trip to Asheville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dessimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorizo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chorizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing