We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peasantly Suprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chorizo - CLOSED

Chorizo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Mexican, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peasantly Suprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in Asheville for the night and were directed to Salsa's in downtown. That restaurant was having a private party and was closed. One of the waiters gave us Chorizo's name as it was run by the same chef. I have had very little Latin food but was willing to give it a try. I was impressed.
The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful. I had a vegetarian plate with plantains, cabbage, vegetables and goat cheese which was very tasty and filling. My brother had a dish that came out sizzling in a cast iron pot that had chorizo, beef and vegetables with fruit as well in a spicy sauce. He raved about it. We tried chips and three salsas for an appetizer that was delicious.
It was probably one of the best meals of the trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    131
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Being latin and living in Colombia the last thing I wanted was latin food, but I was freezing and starving and Chorizo was right there.

This place really suprised me, everything tasted so fresh, so good, you could taste the love they put in the food. The eggs, the pico de gallo, everything was really good.

The walls also have some pretty neat art.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheCartagenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Latin/Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a second choice for dinner when our first choice was out of business. It was more than a good substitute. The Brazilian Steak special was very good as were the chicken fajitas. A little pricey but nice size portions with attentive service. The menu has something for everyone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank andywayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Delicious food with unexpected twists... the salmon/avocado appetizer was as large as an entree. I had a vegetraian dish and my husband had a pork dish. We were both thrilled with the mix of flavors. Art by various local artists is painted onto the walls, making Chorizo a feast for the palate and eyes. Our wait person was knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without being cloying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringNewcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Latin Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We go for the pupusas for lunch. Amazing and can't be missed. We like to sit on the patio and enjoy the Asheville vibe. The Grove Arcade is fun and has some great stores to shop in. We have had many items on the menu - the menu changes depending on what is fresh at the moment- and everything is excellent. The drinks are pretty darn good too. A great sunny day lunch place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorizo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing