We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to have brunch”
Review of Chorizo - CLOSED

Chorizo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Mexican, Caribbean, Spanish, Colombian, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to have brunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened upon the Chorizo by accident. We were looking for a quick bite while were at the Southern Highlands Craft Show at the Civic Center, and saw that the Chorizo offered outside dining with no wait.

Well, what a wonderful surprise. The three of us each had a different brunch, two omelets and one Mexican chicken fajita. All three were delicious. The person who had a salmon omelet said it was the best omelet she had ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    131
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“From backup to starter”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were headed to Early Girl, but with a 45 minuet wait, we checked off and went to Chorizo. What a great decision it turned out to be. The service was very attentive and friendly and the food was spectacular. After being disappointed that our first choice was too busy, the situation actually help lead us to a fantastic restaurant in Asheville.

Helpful?
Thank gator59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved the food here- off the regular track of downtown restaurants so it was the only place we could get seating for 6 on a Sunday morning without waiting 1.5 hours. I would recommend the Grand Popos and the breakfast burrito, as well as the Marzipan Porky (almond pancake., chorizo, and an egg) - all we're very excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jldeco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
575 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Pleasant but mediocre”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We're were trying to decide where to take out-of-town family (a young couple) to dinner, and since they were staying downtown and we couldn't get reservations at the times we wanted at Cúrate or Limones or some other spots we really like, so we settled on Chorizo as a compromise, thinking it was a lively, moderately priced place.

We were somewhat disappointed, especially given good experiences at Chorizo in the past at lunch.

Chrorizo was pleasant enough, our guests enjoyed sitting outside, our server was very friendly (there was just one waitperson for the entire restaurant). Given the staffing level service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry so that's okay.

But the food wasn't exceptional. Or even much above average. Let me be candid and call it mediocre.

The fried calamari appetizer ($10) was generously sized but the squid was rubbery and tough. The chicken taquitas appetizer ($10) was also generous but nothing special.

The four entrees -- Pionono ($17), Arroz con Pollo ($17), Paella del Mar ($20) and the Salmon Fajita ($18) -- were all okay, but nobody raved about them.

I really just got the feeling I was in a tourist restaurant with overpriced food. Perhaps the owner, Mr. Diaz, is off taking care of the expansion of Salsa's, and that this place and his Modesto's next door are not getting full attention.

But, gee, with drinks (one beer, one glass of wine and a total of five cocktails among us), four entrees and two appetizers with tax and tip the bill came to about $200. At half that I would have thought the pricing was reasonable.

Bottom line: While our guests had a pleasant evening, and I guess that's what it's all about, my impression was that we were in an overpriced, mediocre restaurant run by remote control.

When there are so many wonderful restaurants in Asheville that are priced the same or only a little more, why go back here?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We walked in on a rainy Monday night with our 8 month old and they made us feel right at home! It's in a very central location but did stand out to us as a place for a great vibrant date or family dinner.

The food was awesome. The spanish "Azul" pizza (pears, gorgonzola, and pulled pork) was to die for and my husband declared his burrito as one of the best he's ever had - pretty good for a guy who eats burritos like 2x/week. The portions are generous - the two of us split a burrito and the "pizza" which was supposed to be a tapas/small plate and were full but not stuffed. Good selection of local beers and a very good mojito rounded out the meal.

They sat us to the side where we could be comfortable with the baby but were still very attentive to our needs (some servers ignore families or behave as if you're an inconvenience). They brought us a high chair and our daughter was happy as a clam playing with the little pumpkins on each table. The server even brought her a plastic cup of water to play with!

All in all, a great experience for our first trip to Asheville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emckibben2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chorizo also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing