We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Us Feel So Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakland Cottage B&B
Ranked #24 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Oakland Cottage in Asheville, North Carolina is where we stayed for our first three nights of our vacation. It is managed and run by Jim and Mary. We were greeted warmly – like old friends. I knew immediately that we were going to enjoy our stay.

Our Room was the Garden Room (Room 5). It’s a spacious room with a huge, king-sized bed. There is also a daybed/trundle. The bathroom sports a jetted tub with a great shower. Through the sliding door is a small balcony with a small table and two chairs that overlooks the garden.

It rained much of the time while we vacationed. I have to say that the rain actually was welcomed in our room as we could open the sliding door a crack and listen to the rain fall through the night. So very soothing and restful. Another huge bonus was being awakened by the singing of a Carolina Wren (how very appropriate, I thought). I have to say, too, that the bed was amazing. It was so comfortable and the pillows…well, they were the best ever. I must remember to ask where those can be purchased.

Prior to breakfast, we all gathered in the appropriately-named “Gathering Room” for coffee or tea which was served from a beautiful antique table. This was also where we met several of the other guests who were visiting at the same time. Every one of us seemed to be thoroughly enjoying ourselves, and I didn’t hear a single complaint.

We enjoyed an excellent breakfast, served buffet style, in the comfortable dining room. I must say that the food was very, very good and exactly what we needed to get our day of discovering Asheville started.

The front porch is another favorite spot. What a comfortable place it is to unwind after a day of exploring, or just sit, read and relax.

Room Tip: I loved Room #5 (Garden Room), but all the rooms I saw were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a last minute find due to a change in plans, and we were very pleased! It's a comfy, homey spot that was close to things we wanted to see, yet quiet and away from city noise & traffic. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfast was delicious. Reasonably priced and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarthainSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a wonderful stay--very convenient to downtown restaurants and shopping, the Biltmore is maybe 5 minutes away, right behind the hospital, easy to find. Jim was a terrific host and chef! The food was great, loved the peach French toast! Excellent value--children are welcome and pet friendly. Stayed in Rooms 7 and 8, adjoining door, which worked very well for our party of 4. Wonderful history of the home. Jim was a great host--excellent advice on walking trails--check out Bent Creek-Arboretum. Service was terrific--rooms were immaculate. Will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissasmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Asheville for the first time a few weeks ago and have already decided that when we return, we will definitely book Oakland Cottage again. The turn-of-the-century house is charming, and I wish we had more time to sit on the inviting porch. Their breakfast is stellar (fantastic banana bread and quiche), and generous. The location is close to downtown but with easy access to sites outside town, including the Biltmore and a fantastic brewery on the river. But what sold us was Mary's hospitality. Warm and winning, she was eager to not only make suggestions of places to visit, but the next morning she made sure to check in and see if we had a good time. The price was more than reasonable and I can't wait to visit this wonderful place again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Epearce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

"Diamond in the Rough" does not go far enough to describe this gem on the southern side of the city near the Mission Hospital complex. Owner/hosts Jim and Mary are warm, very accommodating and highly skilled at their business. Rooms are immaculate with lots of attention to detail and maintaining the integrity of the period cottage. Breakfasts were superb and creative, served with skill and efficiency. This B n B compares favorably with any of the properties in the more renowned "Montford" district, but at much more reasonable rates. I highly recommend the Oakland Cottage to anyone visiting Asheville.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Best in Asheville, 1 mile from downtown, 1/2 mile from biltmore! Best food, best service, garden room 5 is huge!! Staff was accommodating, scenery is beautiful and the value is amazing! Way better than hotels in Asheville!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A spur of the moment road trip led my husband and I to Asheville and we lucked out when we found Oakland Cottage. The last-minute, online price was just right. Breakfast was very tasty and varied each morning and the staff could not have been more welcoming. Loved the robes in the rooms.
The only drawback is that the Rose Room (number 7) has only an adjoining door and no buffer from the noise in room 8. We could hear a cell phone conversation verbatim early one morning. It is also not walking distance to downtown (less than a five minute drive); however, the quiet neighborhood is perfect for a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlmostProTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
812 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 39 in Asheville
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
770 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland Cottage B&B

Address: 74 Oakland Rd, Asheville, NC 28801-4818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $141 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakland Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakland Cottage B&B - charming historic home, circa 1910. This 5,000 square ft "cottage" has been naturally divided into private Suites and Guest rooms, all w private baths. Wonderful hot breakfast each morning. Some rooms are pet friendly (extra fees apply). Conveniently located one and a half miles from the entrance of the Biltmore Estate, just one and a half miles from downtown Asheville, and a half mile from the River Arts District! Free onsite parking. Fast & Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakland Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing