We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms weren't available on check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms weren't available on check-in”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Even though we had a reservation, and check-in was at 3 p.m., at 4 p.m. they had a lobby full of people with reservations and no rooms available. Some people had to wait in the lobby for their room, well after the posted check-in time, for around an hour. It was ridiculous and unacceptable. The hotel was completely booked, so they should have known they needed to have all rooms available by 3. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels, in much busier areas than Asheville, and have never experienced a situation like this.

Not only that, but the manager on duty seemed stressed and tried to make the customers feel sorry for her. She made us sign an agreement that we would be quiet at night, because we were there for a concert. It's not like the concert was being held at the hotel! She told other (older) people checking in that there was a nearby concert, but she was making people sign the "quiet contract," as though we were second-class guests. It was incredibly insulting.

It's also been four days, and they still haven't refunded the hold on my credit card for incidentals.

On the plus side, it's very conveniently located, and it's within a short walking distance of tons of food, shopping, and entertainment. They also have free parking and free high-speed internet, which is nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroadismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    303
    225
    98
    49
See reviews for
177
327
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Do not stay at this hotel! The front desk staff was plesant and it was in a good location but that is the best thing I can say about this horrible place. The elevator barely worked, the rooms were dirty and dimly lit. There was a dead roach in the bathroom, and hair and stains on the towels and I didn't see any maids to fix this. The front desk susposedly set someone up but we were in and out of the hotel so we never saw this.
What made it worse is that after we left we found out that we were being charged for extra rooms we didn't use because we were susposedly expected to cancel them, even though we didn't know they were booked.
This place is a disgusting rip off! Never stay here, EVER. There are better values in Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAVL, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
I am so sorry to hear about your less than enjoyable stay here; I sincerely apologize and hope that you'll eventually give us another chance. I have contacted our Housekeeping Department regarding the towels and bathroom issues. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and giving us an opportunity to improve. Again, we hope you'll give us another chance. Please contact us if you're going to be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Stayed over Thanksgiving Holiday with family reunion. Seems to be a dog friendly hotel as I saw many in lobby and on elevators. "Chop House" restaurant in hotel. Members of our group who ate dinner there first night told us to skip it. We did eat breakfast buffet in the restaurant 2 mornings and enjoyed it....LOVED that they offered chipped beef on biscuits.
Having lived in Asheville during college, I must say it's a well positioned property. Grove Park Inn and Biltmore House are within 10 minutes. Downtown district in within walking distance.
Disappointed in hotel pillows. Pillows were large but, lumpy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncnativechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudgins
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Free parking, walking distance to historic downtown, pleasant staff

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacrosse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

As a long time Starwood Preferred Guest member, I have always been very pleased at our Sheraton stays. It's great fun to use accumulated points for an overnight stay at a Sheraton. This particular Four Points by Sheraton was listed as a Category 3 hotel wihch required 7000 SPG points for a one night stay. Category 3 hotels are normally very nice and beyond average amenities. However, this Asheville, NC hotel is certainly not worth 7000 points. It's an older hotel with some updates and is adequate, but clearly not a Category 3 hotel. When speaking with the daytime manager about this issue, he informed us that points and categories are set by the local franchise owner. He agreed with my evaluation of the facility, but said there is nothing he could do about my concern. So, beware Starwood members!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here one night en route to seeing friends outside of Asheville, planning to see the Biltmore Estate. The hotel is well located in downtown Asheville and just a couple of miles up the road from the Biltmore. Rooms were of updated decor, with free internet and flat-screen tv. Comfortable bed, pleasant staff, easy walk to restaurants and shops. A couple of hours is enough to see this small city and we had a fantastic dinner at Limones. (A must, if you can get in.) Five minute drive to the Biltmore, which we found over-priced and commercial, though hard to justify skipping if you're in the area and like big old estates. Would stay at the Sheraton again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Booked on Priceline so wasn't sure what we were getting...pleasantly surprised, great value for the money, very clean, modern and comfortable, room smelled fresh, great location, staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a $2.99 breakfast which was good and convenient. Loved the flat screen TV, bathroom and decor and that it's a non-smoking hotel. Would definitely stay there again....would not complain about anything except we could hear the people in the room next to us fussing....(not the hotel's fault.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Downtown Inn & Suites
#42 of 65 in Asheville
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Address: 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Four Points
Asheville Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing