We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
165
339
247
108
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
339
247
108
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschop housegreat locationwithin walking distancefront desk staffan older hotelbed was comfortableoutdoor pooloff the highwaythe room was nicefitness centerdowntownymcabreweriesshampoorenaissancerefrigeratorbiltmore
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 920 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I can honestly say, I was very impressed with the staff at this hotel. They had an answer for everyone of my needs (from the guy in housekeeping who assisted me on getting to the ice machine, to the front desk staff both at checkin and check out). They were very helpful, gave me great info on the area to keep my kids entertained. We visited several placed in the area, including a botanical place and a lake as well as the big Stone Historic Hotel. My kids also loved the pool. The coupon for the Restaurant, didnt made to much sense thought, since you could only use it eat in, and my father wanted to stay in his room, so we couldnt use it. So we paid the full price, Meal wasnt all that!. Rooms were very clean, and loved the beds. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable while visiting around.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponsece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAVL, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for such a complimentary review; we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate feedback regarding the breakfast special and apologize for the miscommunication of restrictions. Thanks also for adding photos of your trip. It looks like you all had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Two adults and a child shared a room Sat and Sun nights. The rooms are smallish. The beds are very small but comfortable. One night we were able to get a rollaway bed for the child. We requested a change on the location of our room and were given a room at the end of the hall on the 4th floor. It was very quiet. We did not hear much noise from the hall or from the room next door. Elfi checked us in at the front desk and she was so friendly. Every employee we encountered was excellent. The hotel does a great job with customer service.

The room like air freshener when we checked in, but the aroma went away quickly. The room was very clean. Even the 6 year old said how "sparkly" the bathroom was.

The pool had a little debris but we were swimming at the end of the day and there were trees all around. One complaint we had were the pool towels. They are thin low quality hand towels. There is no way you could wrap one around yourself and it took 3-4 for an adult to get dry. The pool is beside the street within view of passers by but there wasn't much car or foot traffic on the street. It really wasn't a concern for us.

Location: the views from the hotel aren't great. The interstate is on one side and the city is on the other. Downtown Asheville is a short pleasant walk away. The traffic from the interstate is noticeable but not annoying. The drive to Biltmore Estate was quick and easy. The hotel was easy to find. The convenience of the location made up for lack of views for us.

Sometimes we had to swipe our room keys many times to get the lock to open but we never had to get them reset. Other reviewers commented negatively on the sink faucets, dark halls and elevator but we didn't find them to be a problem. The hotel only has 5 stories in all. Most of the time we preferred to take the stairs anyway.

The free wireless internet and the TV worked well for us. We found a guide to the tv channels offered but we couldn't find one for the specific shows. There were limited channels for our 6 year old.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay. It isn't the fanciest of hotels but the service was excellent, the rooms were very clean and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gruvtrtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAVL, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

Thank you for such a thorough and complimentary response. It is our pleasure to assist you in all aspects of your stay. The concerns regarding the pool and towels have been passed along and we're certainly making an effort to improve. Again, thank you for the extensive review and your kind words; we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Asheville is one of those towns a visitor wants to walk everywhere. For that I loved this hotel. The wonderful streets of town start at the end of the block. And the folks at the desk. Nice. Multiple computers in the lobby to use for on-line needs. The folks in the bar extremely friendly. The restaurant at night was empty so the food might not be too good. Or too expensive. Or maybe there are sooo many great restaurants in Asheville. The pool was closed (winter) but hotel offers a pass for the Y next door. Even better the Y's pool was better and there's the gym. Its a Starwood hotel so of course the beds were comfy and the fixtures modern. Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAVL, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

Thank you for your kind words. Your compliments hare much appreciated by the applicable staff. We invite you and your family to enjoy Chop House during your next stay; we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel because of the convenient location to downtown, which IS great. However, our room was seriously wet with moisture and it smelled extremely musty. Overall, the room was very unclean (hair on the towels and all over the bathroom), the sheet smelled very bad. I was on a short stay and they claimed to be booked, so I didn't have time to deal with complaints. They may have placed us in this room because of the fact that we were traveling with our dog, but mind you, we payed $50 extra to accommodate him. I would not recommend staying here or paying extra for your pet to. I felt bad leaving him sleeping on the floor in that room. There are other hotels in the area that are much nicer and allow pets for similar pricing.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank buggirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsAVL, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

I apologize for the condition of the room; both the housekeeping and engineering staff have been notified. We hope you will give us another chance. If you're in the area again, please give us a call so that we can make this experience up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had an enjoyable 4-night stay at the Sheraton. While the hotel isn't fancy or upscale, they more than make up for it with a very folksy and helpful approach to their guests. When we casually remarked that the rooms didn't have mini-fridges, the front desk clerk offered to bring one up to the room. When my kids wanted to reheat their leftover pizza from mellow mushroom, the staff took them to a microwave near the kitchen. When we asked for some milk, the staff brought us a big glass --no charge. The staff are low-key and not overly officious, but they obviously care about their guests and want to be helpful. They aren't just putting on a positive face because they have to. If you want to be pampered and catered to, then choose another place. Your dishes won't get picked up right away from outside your room, and the lobby isn't pretentious. But if you want a spacious, convenient hotel with caring staff, easy parking, free internet, a nice pool, a sand volleyball court and no uptight rules, then this the place.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank raleigh1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews