We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth 7,000 Starpoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Worth 7,000 Starpoints!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

I was disappointed to find the pool under construction in the middle of the summer. However, I took the staff's suggestion to swim at the Crowne Plaza, as they'd (supposidly) made arrangements for their guests to use that facility. Unfortunately, after driving across town during rush hour in a thunderstorm, I found that hotel's pool to be under construction as well. The Crowne Plaza staff was mystified as to why the Sheraton people would have sent me all that way "on a wild goose chase." This problem was further exacerbated by the Sheraton's broken equipment in their fitness center, as well as their staff and management's lack of response to these concerns.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    299
    217
    98
    45
See reviews for
176
319
33
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Building was dated and drab, dating to early 70s. Out of sync with the quaint vintage neighborhood. On the other hand, our room was lovely, luxurious bedding and new trendy furniture. The location cannot be beat. We parked our car (free parking!) and walked everywhere for 2 days. There is not a lot of choice for downtown accommodations so we'd probably return here.

The a/c was so loud, we had to turn it off at night. Would have been problematic if the weather had been hot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heavenlyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed here on points from Starwood, so I'm not the best person to judge the value. As a "free" room, we were deinitely satisfied and saw no major flaws. The location is good, just two blocks from most of the action. The rooms are updated and clean, although the bathroom was tiny and included a sink that was very challenging due to it's extra-large faucet and small basin. The service seemed good in both the lobby and restaurant. The pool, while we didn't actually use it, seemed average at best.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L6Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

Every aspect of this hotel is hit or miss. The staff is inconsistent. Checking in we had a "trainee" who apparently needs a lot more training – she was very rude and seemed to be bothered by our presence. The 2nd person we dealt with, when we had a problem with our room and asked for a new room after the 1st night, was the complete opposite; she was terrific, very helpful and professional!!The rooms are inconsistent. The first room we had, we had a lumpy soft bed and AC that didn't work. The 2nd room we had the bed was perfect and the AC at least functioning and controllable. What was consistent? Very small, somewhat dirty rooms, tiny bathrooms with no ventilation whatsoever (don't take a hot shower; everything gets wet!), flat pillows, sheets that don’t fit the bed and rickety old elevators. Although the furniture has been recently updated, the entire place feels like a motel from the 70s. For the price we paid for it, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g35girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asheville hotels

georgebird
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel has a wonderful location and is perfect if you want to go out in downtown Asheville.

My biggest problem with this hotel, and the reason I could not recommend it to others, is that the linens don't fit the bed. We had a king sized bed that was fit with queen sized sheets. Needless to say, these didn't fit. I don't want to pay for a nice hotel if I have to sleep directly on the mattress. I think that is just gross. The front desk offered us no solution and no help.

I was really disappointed in the discomfort of the linens, because this hotel is otherwise very nice. It had a darling bathroom and the room was decorated very well. However, an adorable bathroom will not help you sleep comfortably and until they fix the sheet problem I cannot recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, VI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just got back from a trip to Asheville and although we loved the city and surrounding areas the hotel was very disappointing. It was dirty, our room was never adequately cleaned, the bathroom was very small with hardly any towels, there were only two pillows on a king bed that you had to fold in order to be thick enough, there was no hot water Sunday morning for a shower, and the Internet did not work despite three phone calls--two of which were to tech guys that lasted thirty minutes each and still didn't solve the problem. The only positive is the hotel is within walking distance to downtown attractions, but is also next to a big loud highway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stxtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

I visit Asheville about twice a year and generally stay in B + Bs but was looking for something a bit less expensive and more centrally located than the B + Bs I've enjoyed before. Chose the Four Points for it's location and price but was happily surprised by it's comfort and decor. While rooms were not unique, they were very attractively decorated. Interesting local pictures were on the walls---rather than the boring and lifeless pictures used by most hotel chains. Bedding was extra comfortable and the room was quiet for sleeping---sometimes a real problem in hotels, especially ones by a freeway (as this one was). There were real blackout curtains and there was a comfortable chair with good light for reading. Best of all, this hotel was the perfect location for exploring all of downtown Ashevile on foot.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevotedTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Address: 22 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Asheville Hotel is located Downtown and offers the convenience of a great location while being nestled among the Blue Ridge Mountains. We have a committed, lively staff and put our guest's needs first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown Hotel Asheville
4 Points By Sheraton Asheville Downtown
Four Points Asheville Downtown
Best Western Asheville
Asheville Sheraton
Asheville Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing