We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
268 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Solid 4 stars!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Check in was efficient, our room was spacious, very clean and well appointed. The bed was VERY comfortable with 4 pillows per bed. Glad we had reserved ahead because this Best Western is popular and was sold out both (weekend) nights we stayed. Breakfast was also popular and provided the basics plus waffles and other hot items to start the day. Free wi-fi plus a guest computer in the lobby. This is a nice hotel and we would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: Outdoor swimming pool looked inviting. Rooms in the front have some street noise, but the A/C fan d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    483
    174
    53
    46
See reviews for
462
560
80
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two days. The rooms were modern for an older hotel. Bed and pillows not very comfortable. Typical of this type of hotel which is more of a motel. Bathroom small can not shut door once inside. Found a cigarette butt in our non smoking room and it smelled very musky and damp during our stay. Room was only $71. So hard to say too much since the price was good. Good place for smokers, dog owners, or anyone wanting to keep their car or bike right outside the door. Pool was very clean. Typical breakfast with some hot items. Hotel staff nice but not overly friendly. Probably wouldn't stay here again if I could find something nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acebietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed here many times and am always made to feel welcome. The desk staff and the housekeepers are always accomodating and friendly. Such a convenience location - right off the BlueRidge Pkwy. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountaincruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
235 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in a spacious room at the quiet back side (226). The bed is comfortable, the bathroom ok, shower looked brandnew and was clean. Paid a good price, direct at BW website. Breakfast area was on both mornings rather overcrowded. Visited Biltmore Estate which was more impressing as what we expected. Blue Ridge Parkway was a bit disappointing. Can recommend the downloadable Urban Trail Walking Tour through the center of relaxed, post-hippy Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I will go back to this Best Western again. It is clean and had the best breakfast . There were eggs,sausage gravy,sausage,varieties of bread, bagels,biscuits,apples,bananas,fruit juices: apple, cranberry,orange water. There was a variety of cereals,waffles,sweet rolls, muffins. the coffee was very good. There was tea ,hot chocolate, and milk for those that do not care for coffee.
For coffee.We like the refrigerator in the room and a newspaper in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I understand that hotels in this area are kind of pricey due to the proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Biltmore Estate. However, given the price we paid for our room (even after the AAA discount), I expected more. I do have to say that the room was comfortable albeit a little cramped--the table and chairs were crammed up against the air conditioner and in good shape. I believe that there was a recent renovation, so the furnishings were adequate. What I didn't like was the service.

First, the website stated a $10 per night pet fee. Okay. When I reserved the room, I specifically noted two dogs. When I checked in, the front desk person made me initial by the pet fee ($10 per night) and confirmed that I had two dogs. When I check out, there were TWO $10 charges (PLUS taxes). I asked the gal what was going on. She pointed to a sign stating that it was $10 per PET PER NIGHT. Well, this was the same girl that checked me in. I told her that I REFUSED to pay that amount. The website stated a flat rate, and she said NOTHING at check in about a per-pet fee. She told me that she would have to ask her manager. I asked to speak to the manager..."Oh, he's not here."

I called her on the fact that she did not explain the charge at check-in and I would not be paying it. She finally relented and refunded the additional pet fee. Yes, it was only $10. But I don't like this 'bait and switch.' If there is a fee per pet per night, be clear and state it on the website. I would NOT have had an issue with this had it be explicitly stated. What I do object to is the lack of care of both the management and the obviously unconcerned and poorly trained front desk personnel.

Oh--they do give you a 'goody bag' for your dog upon check-in that contains a pack of dog-waste bags in a holder. That was nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MWD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My son, daughter and I found the hotel to be outstanding. We had a great stay on our way to the beach. The customer service was outstanding in a time that finds customer service lacking. The continental breakfast was the best we have ever experienced and the rooms were spotless. Anytime we are down that way we will stay at this Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.8 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#16 of 65 in Asheville
924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road

Property: Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Address: 501 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805-1824 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Of Asheville Biltmore East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Asheville
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#9 Business Hotel in Asheville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#22 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Asheville Biltmore East Hotel Asheville
Best Western Asheville Biltmore East
Asheville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing