We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet Friendly, Great Value & No Bed Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, Great Value & No Bed Bugs!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This Best Western was a great value stay. The rooms are up to date, have modern furnishings, and the bed is comfortable! I was very pleased with the overall appearance of the room for this price category.

I checked the mattress for bed bugs - and I'm happy to report i found NONE! I had to switch rooms during my 3 night stay, because we arrived earlier than expected so I was able to spend a night in a double queen and king bed rooms. Both beds were clean, NO BED BUGS, and had comfy bedding. The bathroom is functional and a bit tight - but it does the trick.

I brought along my italian greyhound and did not have a problem at all with this hotel. I was given a room on the bottom floor - which is ideal if you have a pet. The even have a proper grass "potty" area for pets and they provide you with biodegradable potty pick up bags! Which, even though I brought my own, was a super nice touch for those who might not have thought about it.

Even though this is a pet friendly hotel, I was scared there would be a "pet" smell in my room. NOPE! Room smelled fresh and clean, and I would have never guessed there might have been a pet in my room previously.

This Best Western is conveniently located near a ton of places to eat: McDonalds,Wendy's, Waffle House, Cook Out Burger, and etc. But, they do have a decent morning breakfast display! They are also conveniently close to both downtown Asheville and the Biltmore!

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to see Asheville on a budget, as well as for anyone looking for a pet friendly hotel that won't break the bank.

The only CON I can say about this hotel is that I had a hard time sleeping through the night because of the hotel layout. This is one of those hotel/motel layouts where the cars are parked out in front of your door. So as soon as 4 am hit, all i could hear is loud diesel engines, car doors slamming, people banging things and leaving... If you're a light sleeper and you don't have a pet, stay on the 2nd floor - I'm assuming that would remedy the situation.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeping - ask for a room on the 2nd floor so you don't have to hear the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicsLover617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    478
    174
    53
    45
See reviews for
456
553
80
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Friendly staff during check-in/out. Thats the good news. Had asked for a ground floor room as wife had knee replacement surgery a few weeks ago. None apparently available. Our second floor room (stairs access only) had paper-thin walls where you could hear a pin drop in the neighboring room let alone your own... Every car door/room door slamming all night long could be heard. Old-style ac units were either turned on or off; apparently not thermostat broken or didn't exist in these dinosaur units...

Location is not convenient to downtown historic district. Is within a mile of chain restaurants...

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you want a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed overnight at this motel when we drove to Asheville for a concert and it was totally sufficient. It's nothing spectacular, but the rooms are relatively clean and spacious. The room we staying in was (I think) recently updated, but the bedding and bathroom were pretty basic. The location is a short drive to downtown, but there is nothing special about the area where the motel is located. Just a bunch of chain restaurants and stores, and other motels.

If you want atmosphere and something unique and are OK spending a little more, I would recommend staying closer to downtown which is actually a really nice place! The South isn't particularly known for its pedestrian-friendly cities, but Asheville was a breath of fresh air in that regard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Very good accomodations. I would recommend this motel to all needing to stay in the Asheville, NC area. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Staff made every effort to accomodate our special request for a room for a guest with limited mobility. The rooms were clean and well decorated. The free breakfast was very good, with quite a variety of food and drink items.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAHAM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Best Western properties are one of my favorites, and the one in Asheville will now become another that I will return to whenever I am in the area. The accomodations are comfortable, clean, and very convenient to the top visitor's spots. Breakfast is excellent, the staff is very pleasant and helpful, and the property is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_NCTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Staying at the Tunnel Road BW in Asheville, NC isn't like staying with family--it's much MUCH better. Most of the employees have been there for over a decade and they remember repeat customers on sight--before they even pull up the data on their computer they are smiling and asking how we've been.

The rooms are newly refurbished and the beds are VERY comfortable. It may not be the same experience as staying at one of the five-star hotels/inns in the aread, but then we're not having to pay $500+/night, so I'll happily live with this fact.

The new rooms that are making MUCH better use of the building that used to be Pancho's are extra special. I've already told my husband that we should plan on staying in one on our anniversary.

If you are staying at this location for business, the internet service is fast. I do recommend using the cable link up over the WiFi as you will be in the mountains, which can have adverse effects on the WIFI speed/linkage.

Also, although there are a gazillion places you may prefer to eat in the Asheville area, the complimentary breakfast that is served there is pretty good--buffet style eggs & sausage, malt waffles you cook yourself, hot and cold cereals, muffins, bagels a couple different types of juice. And, of course, coffee (caf and decaf) and tea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinjubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.8 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road

Property: Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
Address: 501 Tunnel Road, Asheville, NC 28805-1824 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Of Asheville Biltmore East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Asheville
#9 Business Hotel in Asheville
#22 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#22 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Asheville Biltmore East Hotel Asheville
Best Western Asheville Biltmore East
Asheville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing