We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Studio Visit”
Review of River Oaks Studio

River Oaks Studio
Ranked #22 of 51 Museums in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the working basketry studio and gallery of internationally acclaimed sculptural basketry artist, Matt Tommey located in the heart of Asheville's River Arts District - home to over 200 working artists and 25 studio buildings in renovated warehouses dating from the early 1900's. Matt works primarily in vines, branches and bark that he harvests from the mountains of Western North Carolina to create one of a kind sculptural art baskets. Enjoy a tour of the studio and a lively conversation with Matt about his latest creation.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Visiting Matt Tommey's Asheville studio is an immersion in statistic expression, entrepreneurship and southern hospitality! You'll get a chance to view a gallery of his amazing sculptural baskets and see him at work in the studio. If it's not busy, you'll be entertained by a few stories about walks in the woods to collect the invasive species materials used in his work. You'll leave with your spirits lifted...and perhaps a basket for your home!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2016

We visited lots and lots of stores and galleries while in Asheville. We found River Oaks studio / Matt Tommey Sculptural Art Baskets to be the most unwelcoming place.

Upon entering we viewed their basket art on display and could hear people in the back room speaking. As we rounded the corner to the back room, everyone stopped talking. One person said Hi and not another word was spoken to anyone, not even among themselves. We were clearly interrupting them.

No one asked us how we were doing, if we had any questions about the baskets or the materials used to make them. Total silence.

I thought that was quiet unfriendly and rude to just ignore us as we stood there - so we left.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank nowincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt T, Owner at River Oaks Studio, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Sorry you felt you had a bad experience. As you mentioned, we always say hello but if people don't go further with interaction, we try to respect their space and allow them to enjoy the gallery on their own. It's also a little hard to hear in here, especially during the summers with all our fans blowing :)

We pride ourselves on great interactions with our clients, which is why we have so many repeat visitors and clients. Hopefully you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

If you’re near or in the River Arts District, Matt Tommey’s baskets are definitely worth seeing. He makes beautiful sculptural baskets, both for functional use and to display. All are made from locally harvested vines, branches, and bark. I think they are appropriate for virtually any type of décor.

Yes, they are not inexpensive; however, they are show-quality, lasting works of fine art—not fragile or mass-produced baskets designed for temporary use.

Parking is plentiful and convenient.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank KenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

While visiting Asheville, I stopped by the River Arts District and the River Oaks Studio. I met Matt Tommy, the artist/sculptor of these gorgeous sculptural art baskets. He uses all sorts of natural materials to incorporate into some of his sculptural art baskets and wall art. His pieces are fine art and not to be confused with the mass-produced baskets found in a straw market. Matt is a gifted artisan, musician, author and speaker. He has led national and international art conferences, and is the founder of the WorshipStudio. I highly recommend his work and this cool art district.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank StacyAnn726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Definitely put this on your list of must see studios in Asheville's River Arts District! I can't wait to visit again and bring friends and family to see Matt's gallery of finished pieces as well as the behind the scenes basketry materials and processes.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank KatieGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oaks Studio also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to River Oaks Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing