We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sculptural Art Baskets”
Review of River Oaks Studio

River Oaks Studio
Ranked #22 of 51 Museums in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the working basketry studio and gallery of internationally acclaimed sculptural basketry artist, Matt Tommey located in the heart of Asheville's River Arts District - home to over 200 working artists and 25 studio buildings in renovated warehouses dating from the early 1900's. Matt works primarily in vines, branches and bark that he harvests from the mountains of Western North Carolina to create one of a kind sculptural art baskets. Enjoy a tour of the studio and a lively conversation with Matt about his latest creation.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 3, 2016

While visiting Asheville, I stopped by the River Arts District and the River Oaks Studio. I met Matt Tommy, the artist/sculptor of these gorgeous sculptural art baskets. He uses all sorts of natural materials to incorporate into some of his sculptural art baskets and wall art. His pieces are fine art and not to be confused with the mass-produced baskets found in a straw market. Matt is a gifted artisan, musician, author and speaker. He has led national and international art conferences, and is the founder of the WorshipStudio. I highly recommend his work and this cool art district.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank StacyAnn726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Definitely put this on your list of must see studios in Asheville's River Arts District! I can't wait to visit again and bring friends and family to see Matt's gallery of finished pieces as well as the behind the scenes basketry materials and processes.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank KatieGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Beautiful baskets in a truly artsy setting. This studio is worth a visit for the opportunity to see fine craft show-quality pieces and a real artist's workshop.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2015

I visited Vine Baskets by Matt Tommey with my husband and it was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed the art and the atmosphere. The studio was beautiful, and Matt was so welcoming and kind. I would definitely recommend a visit, and we will return when we visit Asheville again!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Nrcrispi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2015

I visited on a grey January day, and it was a highlight of my visit to Asheville. The opportunity to see the workshop, the work, and talk to such a talented artist is remarkable. Matt was generous with his time and my questions, and his designs and craftsmanship are stunning.

Date of experience: January 2015
Thank MrSinjow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oaks Studio also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to River Oaks Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing