We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel's Restaurant & Bar at The Grove Arcade
Ranked #76 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just had a quick lunch here as we had to leave Asheville for Atlanta airport that afternoon and Carmel's was convenient as we had just been looking around The Grove Arcade.

We asked our server how large the pizzas were, but they turned out bigger than expected and could have managed with one between two. They were both good and a little different from the usual and it is a pity that neither of us managed to eat it all.

It was relatively early on a weekday, so the place was not very busy, but the service was quick and the waitress good, so it was exactly what we were looking for. It was also good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    226
    71
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, casual dinner”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were looking for a casual place to have dinner, and this fit the bill. Our waitress was attentive, and we enjoyed an appetizer, pizza, and drinks. My complaint would be that no impressive desserts were offered. We sat inside, but, if you sit outside, you apparently have to be willing to put up with street musicians, artists, etc., as they let them set up along the sidewalk within arms reach of the tables. For what we ordered, the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWTSatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“set aside several hours”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

the food was good but service was extremely slow! we were seated right away but a meal of one app n 2 salads took over 2.5 hours

Helpful?
Thank ckleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There are other choices in Asheville”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Was seated quickly as dining room was empty. Took 15 minutes before we were served. Had to get up and look for a waiter. I had a pork chop with green beans and Mac and cheese. Pork chop was small but good. Mac and cheese was refrigerator cold. Had soup that was awful. The wife had meat loaf which was the worst ever tasted. Better restaurants to go to in town for sure. This is a tourist place so they are not worried about repeat business. One other thing. The bottle beer was not that cold and a small bottle at that. You won't get drunk here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole B, Owner at Carmel's Restaurant & Bar at The Grove Arcade, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I apologize for your less than stellar experience at our restaurant. We put a high value on each and every guest that chooses to dine with us if they are a visitor to Asheville or a local resident. We take criticism very seriously and thank you for taking the time to point out any shortcomings. I would like to investigate your experience with my staff so that we can improve upon and correct the issues you experienced. Would you please take the time to email me with the details of your meal - what in particular you didn't like about the items you reviewed so I may take corrective action and make sure we are not making the same mistake twice? Your food should have been corrected and/or replaced with another option right there and then at the time you dined with us. I would like make this up to you - please email me at carolebowers@rocketmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Would not go back!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The hostess sat us inside and forgot about us! My husband finally found a server, we placed our order, he ordered the pork chop and I ordered meatloaf. The mac 'cheese was cold. The only good part of the meal was the salad...and this was a week night at five thirty right when they open! What a waste of fifty dollars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel's Restaurant & Bar at The Grove Arcade also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Carmel's Restaurant & Bar at The Grove Arcade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing