We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST movie theatre in TOWN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fine Arts Theater

Fine Arts Theater
Ranked #4 of 27 Fun & Games in Asheville
Attraction details
asheville,nc
Level Contributor
328 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“BEST movie theatre in TOWN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I week doesn't go by when I don't go to this theatre unless the movie is playing longer then a week. I love this place. The staff is wonderful! Its right downtown. Old place renovated....only shows independent films which I love.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
“Diavolo inspired us all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

we attended a creative dance performance that wowed us all!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good variety of movies in our downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I've rated this theater based on 3 issues. First, the moves that come to this theater are ones that might not ever come to town without their efforts. Second, this is the only theater in the downtown, and its proximity to some good restaurants - Laurey's and Doc Chey's in particular - makes this theater a great destination. Third, Asheville's downtown in the 1980's was in a bad shape. There was even talk of tearing down all the buildings and building a mall. There were a few people that had the foresight to stop this effort, and the owner of the Fine Arts was one of them. He turned an old adult theater into a great destination.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fine Arts Theater: the best in art films”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Every motion picture that I have seen here has had some special quality. You can get reviews of the films on the Fine Arts Theater website prior to attending. The staff is very welcoming and accommodating. The whole atmosphere is warm and cozy.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love this movie theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Right downtown and shows lots of foreign and arthouse films.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Theater also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fine Arts Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing