We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine tasting”
Review of Sante

Sante
Ranked #262 of 787 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent wine tasting”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I visited the Sante Wine Bar on a Monday evening. On Sunday and Mondays, they offer samples of 10 wines for $10. Chris (the bartender) did an excellent job suggesting what to try based on what we told him we liked. We ordered homemade chips and bruchetta for appetizers. Both were very good. When I asked another bartender what marcona almonds were, he brought me some to try. Sante offers wines in the bottle or from the tap in growlers. We sat at the bar, but they also have more indoor seat, as well as on the patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeast, TN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited mid-afternoon, stopping in on a whim. The bartender was super-friendly and nice to talk to. He said it was only his 4th day, so although he was a tad bit slow it was totally understandable. He was way more knowledgable about beer than many we've come across. We ordered a brie plate and it took for-ev-er to arrive from the kitchen. The brie wash't notable, but the chutney served with it was really the star of the show. Also came with pecans made in-house that were fairly tasty. We walked by later in the evening and this place was absolutely packed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDaysNora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monday Afternoon Wine Tasting”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I were walking back to our cottage from a downtown food tour and saw the sign out front for their afternoon wine tasting. 10 wines for $10. We both LIKE wine, but neither of us have what anyone would call a discerning palette. We know what we like and what we don't, but can't pick out notes and nuances, so labels and reviews don't give us much info, and we end up buying the same thing every time we pick up a bottle.

The bartender gave us a list of almost 30 wines ranging from "Crispy, Fresh and Clean White / Rose" to "Big A** Chewy Reds". He went down the list, setting a pair of glasses in front of us and gave us a brief lesson on the grape, history of the vineyard, location, etc. There were a few that we didn't really care for, and a few that we really liked but probably would never have ordered / bought / tasted because they weren't safe and familiar. Overall, glad we chose that route to get back to our cottage. Recommend to anyone visiting Asheville - $10 for 2+ glasses of good wine is a great value, and you might find a new favorite.

On their menu, the tasting is Sunday and Monday afternoon from 4-6:30.

As a PS - we also ordered their Chipotle Hummus - and it was also excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful finish to the day”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We discovered Sante while exploring the Grove Arcade, full of shops and a remarkable bookstore. This is a wonderfully warm and inviting place with attentive and knowledgeable service. We rested our tired feet and ordered their "Flights of Fancy"- 4 half pours of outstanding wine for only $16. We accompanied these with the Cheese & Charcuterie Boards and chose 3 local cheeses served with olives and fruit ($17). And then we relaxed. Our server/ bartender knew his stuff and helped us make great choices. Wonderful! Some advice: there are always tasting specials (10 for $10); although the wine is on tap and you can purchase a 1 Liter Sante growler, this is an expensive way to go. Just write down the name of the wine and get it elsewhere...unless you are both tipsy and a romantic. PS Don't sit by the door in winter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in after a day on our feet and did not want to leave! The bartender (or perhaps I should say "winetender"?) was very knowledgeable but not obnoxious about it! We sampled a number of whites and reds, and brews, accompanied by delicious bites. All in all we really did not need to go on to dinner .... Would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkprevary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing