We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunch”
Review of Limones

Limones
Ranked #12 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Biltmore Ave
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Didn't arrive for brunch until 1PM but was able to get a table right away. Our waiter recommended a Spanish red wine and it was a delight. I ordered the Three Cheese Chili Relleno and it was a generous portion. The only drawback was that you couldn't get your egg poached...you could get it any other way, but not poached. My friends both got a wrap that they said was delicious. While we were there, the Asheville Food Tour arrived, which was about 20 people and this caused a bit of a disruption, in my opinion. I'm sure this wouldn't happen at dinner.
Haven't had dinner here yet but I hear it is fabulous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    289
    71
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We eat at Limones every few months. The food is great! New on the menu is trio of ceviche - highly recommended. Also Lobster mac has loads of lobster in it. Service is always good and the ambiance is very nice and not so noisy. Overall a very pleasurable dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank Vsm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointed but it might be me!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Was so excited to go here based on the reviews but I was really disappointed. We ordered the lobster nachos that they give great reviews for - would never order them again. There was some flavor in them that just didn't taste good. Neither of us liked them. We also ordered the chicken sausage with lobster mac and cheese and it was way too spicy for me (which is why I says maybe its me) but the other diner liked it. Then we split the chicken tacos which you get 2 tacos and about 1/4 cup of beans. We both liked this. Then they gave you 2 chocolate truffles with a hint of cayenne pepper - and of course too spicy for me. UGH! I will not be back but to be fair the restaurant is really quaint, the service was great. If you have a fine pallet you will lrobably like it. Oh, we also ordered the blood orange margarita - holy smokes - I think she gave us 1/2 a bottle of tequila - way too strong. I didn't drink any of it. Disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Lovemybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican & Incredible!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

"Upscale Mexican" meant little to me until we ate here. Mere chicken tacos were absolutely marvelous. The flavors in the guacamole, salsa, black beans were honestly like none I had tasted before. My husband said the Brussels sprouts & bacon appetizer was the best he's ever eaten, and he doesn't care for Brussels sprouts! Being wine drinkers, we didn't order their famous margueritas, but we've heard they are unlike any you've ever had. Based on the excellence of the food & service, we have no doubt that is true!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pegasus1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In a word: "YUM"”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, and a fun twist on tequila drinks. We are from Texas, so we weren't all that excited about Mexican food. Not to worry-the menu was unlike anything we had ever seen. Steamed muscles with chorizo and civeche verde (had a wonderful flavor...unlike any civeche I've ever had) were a couple of favorites. We are "tapas" style and enjoyed every bite! There were enough amazing appetizers on the menu that we didn't even get past that section of the menu....except for dessert...tres leches to die for. Don't miss this Asheville gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Texasbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limones also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Limones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing