We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique dishes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limones

Limones
Ranked #9 of 772 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Biltmore Ave
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved the unique dishes on the standard menu. I don't remember Spanish names of the dishes, but my fajita-type meal came in a very hot lava bowl. My wife had an awesome dish baked and served in a clay pot. We had a wonderful time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    266
    67
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Contemporary Mexican well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Limones pleased the palate of everyone in our large party - the margaritas were popular and the interesting (in a good way) entrees were perfectly seasoned according to the foodies in our crowd. I enjoyed the most tender short ribs ever with no annoying extra fat pieces. Don't order the shrimp quesadilla if you are expecting a small dish - it is huge! All servings were ample. We dined at a peak hour on a Friday night and the noise level was a little loud, but then we were adding to that. The service was great - especially for a group of a dozen+ - and the multiple checks were handled correctly. I would put Limones on my short list of restaurants to visit while in Asheville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nicely spiced meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'll preface this with I love hot spicy food. If you don't, this review might not apply to you. The chili rellino and the fish taco were prepare perfectly. The bread pudding with caramel was a great way to end the meal. The service was attentive. I really enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alvinmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

They say this is mexican/california but that does not describe the high classed cuisine they serve. I have eaten there twice in a coule of weeks and of all the good places in Asheville this is one of the best. The sea bass and the filet were both excellent. Great mixed drink specials and wine list.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Markets itself as a blend of Mexican and Californian cuisine. Absolutely true. The menu was contemporary and interesting. The flavors were incredible. The margaritas are excellent. While small and busy, we never felt rushed. Would recommend a reservation. Downtown has many restaurant chooses. This one should be high on our list.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limones also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Limones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing