We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking The basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lacking The basics”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked a stay at one of their 2 bedrooms suites , only to find there was only 1 bed in each room and no options for a room with 2 twins, we has to upgrade to what was actually a 3 bedroom apartment , for an additional 6o,oo per night.
the place does not have a traditional lobby , just a room converted into an office. to me a hotel should have a centrally located lobby to serve as a focal point and meeting place. the office was not easily accessible from the rooms, and navigation was difficult,
the rooms have woad floors which do compliment the decor, but make the rooms very noisy. you can hear everything that's going on in the kitchen and living room from the bedrooms.
The place is a little overdone , striving for luxury class but using too many shortcuts. Appliances and fixtures are good name brands , but lower quality models.
We had a coffee maker that didn't work , notified management, only to find the next day the same coffee maker, and the coffee wasnt replenished ! same for soap, and shampoo

Room Tip: be sure to check the accommodations before you book Bring EVERYTHING you need including all food th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Though you weren't overly satisfied with your stay, I appreciate you reaching out and leaving us some feedback.

I'm sorry if we weren't more clear regarding the layout of the two-bedroom suite. Furthermore, it's very troubling to hear that your coffee maker, soap, and shampoo were not replaced properly — this should have been an easy fix on our part. I plan on checking with the team to ensure that we don't make this mistake again.

I hope you won't hesitate to reach out if you have any further comments, questions, or concerns. I'd appreciate the chance to hear more about your time with us, because we are always striving to improve. Take care.

Sincerely,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    290
    86
    37
    24
See reviews for
377
531
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are spacious, tasteful and clean. The beds are comfortable and all the supplies are there even a washer and dryer. The balcony's offer a relaxing afternoon sip of wine and view of the surrounding wooded areas. The location was convenient to everything from shopping to nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much, Jackie. We're happy to be your "home away from home!" We're thrilled to hear about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Take care.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our road trip included a stop in Asheville before camping in Smokey Mountain NP. The weather report was ominous so I booked two nights instead of one in hopes of avoiding camping in a tent during a Nor'easter. Our studio suite was perfect. New and beautifully decorated, it also included a kitchen where our camping food could stay fresh. We cooked a bit and ate out a bit and explored the city in what turned out to be beautiful, sunny weather from this convenient location. I overheard the manager recommend The Corner Kitchen for breakfast and I do too. Try the pecan-crusted trout. The bed was heavenly, walk-in shower very nice. All-in-all, I would highly recommend the Residences at Biltmore.

Only one complaint...when we got to our campsite... there were no folded swan towels in the bathroom and the bed was not nearly as plush!

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is nicer than one facing the parking lot, when sitting on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Karen,

Thanks for your kind words. Knowing that you were so satisfied with all we had to offer puts a smile on my face—I greatly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in beautiful Asheville!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My sister, cousin, niece and I stayed here in April for two nights. It is in a great location, about 5 minutes from the entrance to the Biltmore Estate, and close to Biltmore Village with wonderful restaurants and shops. Our little condo was very clean,with a large bathroom, well-equipped kitchen and a nice size living room. The shower was nice and strong, the bed was very comfortable and the service could not have been better! They made reservations for us at a lovely restaurant nearby and directed us to some wonderful shops. I also had left a few items in the bathroom drawer which they mailed to me prompted within a week for a very minimal charge. Overall, an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Joey,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear about your time here. Providing you with the necessary amenities to enjoy a relaxing, fun stay is always our goal. The team will be thrilled to see this!

Hope to welcome you back again,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent 4 nights as a sisters mini-vacation. There were 3 of us and we had a two bedroom suite. The Residences at Biltmore is perfect!! We were so comfortable in our suite that it made it hard to leave and see the many wonderful sites in and around Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyGrammyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Seeing "perfect" describe your visit brings a smile to my face! I appreciate your kind review. I'm so happy to hear that we could help make your sisters vacation a success. Thanks for your recommendation and kind words. We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day stay at Asheville (first time there) first week in May and found this place online - all I can say is glad we did. We had a one bedroom suite and the room and facilities were wonderful. Roomy and clean, large bathroom (Mrs Dogface loved the shower!) and nice balcony. Nice location close to Biltmore Village and Downtown but not in the mix of all the bustle Full kitchen had pots, pans, dish ware etc, for us to make breakfast and snacks. Any minor problems we had (light bulb out on balcony) were quickly remedied. Concierge staff very pleasant - we happened to work a lot with Jackie (I hope I got name right) who helped us with reservations and arranged for massage for me at Suraj (thanks!). When we come back, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogfaceJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
You're very welcome! I'm thrilled to hear about your stay with us—it was a pleasure having you here last week. Providing you with "wonderful" amenities and everything it takes to enjoy a comfortable stay is always our primary concern. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Inn last year and the return stay was just as wonderful. The rooms were quite large and immaculate. The staff was friendly and quite helpful. The location in between Biltmore Village and downtown Asheville. I would reccommend The Residences at Biltmore very highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I'm so happy to hear that your return trip was just as "wonderful" as the first! Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Your kind words put a smile on my face. We look forward to having you back again in the future.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brookstone Lodge
#32 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing