We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, paper thin walls, would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice property, paper thin walls, would not return”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We were so excited for a relaxing weekend get away, but little did we know we weren't going to rest much.
Check in was quick - we arrived early, but our room was ready. We made our way to our ground level studio suite and were very pleased when we opened the door. The room was gorgeous with all the amenities you'd expect for $169 a night. But we quickly realized that it was going to be a rough weekend. All weekend we dealt with hearing every move of the people staying above us. We could hear them walking around, talking, flushing the toilet, taking a shower...you name it, we heard it. They were especially noisy late at night (midnight on Friday and Saturday) and early in the morning (it started back up around 8 or 8:30 each morning). I enjoy sleeping in when I'm on vacation...not here! I couldn't! Needless to say the walls are paper thin - we could even hear housekeeping vacuuming the unit next door on Saturday afternoon! After staying the weekend I decided to look into the negative reviews here on trip advisor...and what do you know...many of them are complaining about noise. It irritated me to read the property manager's responses to avoid the problem in the future by 1. Letting the 24 hour staff know (which wouldn't help because clearly they know how thin the walls are) and 2. To request a top floor room - seriously?! That's your recommendation? That's just ridiculous. Stay here if you like to spend a lot of money on a room with nice accommodations, but don't care if you don't sleep at all...we won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I'm sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your stay, JP. As you mention, we are aware of the thinness of our walls. However, we are always willing to do whatever it takes to help our guests, because your satisfaction and comfort is always our primary concern

Did you mention this to our staff during your visit? I'm sure our 24 hour concierge would have been willing to do whatever it took to ensure your comfort.

Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further comments or concerns. We'd appreciate the opportunity to put our best foot forward. Take care.

Sincerely,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    302
    95
    39
    25
See reviews for
392
544
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After staying in several "cookie cutter" hotels on a long road trip, the R@B was like heaven. So many hotel chains are almost indistinguishable from one another. This place is unique, tasteful, memorable. The staff made us feel welcome and valued. Everyone we talked with took time to answer all our questions and give helpful hints on the area. One lovely little extra is that they light the firepit every evening, and guests can sit around the fire to watch the sunset.

The property is in between the Biltmore Estate and Asheville, about a 3-minute drive to either one. It's set back from the main road in a beautiful wooded setting. Our studio (the smallest room available) was over 500 sq ft--about twice the size of many standard hotel rooms. The rooms are designed and decorated (in the Craftsman style) as nicely as someone's home. The wooden flooring and beautiful furniture were not at all what you'd find in most hotels. Our room was quiet, and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful, with a gigantic shower and a whirlpool tub. Although there are many wonderful restaurants in the area, we saved a lot by making breakfast and lunch in the efficient kitchen. We also appreciated having a washer and dryer on site. We will definitely return to the R@B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ondrejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind and thoughtful review. It is so flattering to see that we were "like heaven!" I'm thrilled to hear about your stay with us. Ensuring that our guests are comfortable and relaxed is always our goal. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Residence in a three bedroom...wished we could have stayed longer. The space was very roomy, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and prompt. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Reservations were made promptly so we did not have to wait at any restaurants. The recommendations were spot on and very enjoyable. It is in a great location to downtown Asheville, Biltmore Estates, and Biltmore Village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kerry,

We wish you could have stayed longer as well! Thanks for taking the time to share you experience with us on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to beautiful Asheville again!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed a week at the Residences. We found the location to the Asheville downtown district and the Biltmore very convenient. The hotel is quiet. We had a one room suite. The bed was extremely comfortable as well as the pillows. The suite had a balcony with chairs ( a very pleasant way to spend time outside). The bath had a very large stand alone shower as well as a whirlpool tub. All areas of the room had plenty of light for reading, watching tv, etc. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, bowls and other table settings though cooking utensils like the pot and pan selection were minimal. The full size refrigerator/freezer had an outside dispenser of ice and cold filtered water.

Housekeeping was excellent every day and the staff tries to accommodate your schedule by cleaning early or later in the day at your request.

The next time I am in Asheville I will look no further for great accommodations at a fair price.

Room Tip: We had room 425. It had a view of the parking lot and further beyond a hillside that housed the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. We strive to offer our customers the necessary amenities to enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay, so I'm sure everyone will love seeing this! We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Asheville.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash. DC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just wound up a great week long stay at The Residences. Having stayed in a variety of hotels in Asheville, this was one of our better stays. While the property is not walking distance to downtown, it is very conveneint to both downtown, the Biltmore Estate and Biltmore Village. Unlike other reviews, we had no sound issues from other rooms at all, but we were on the top floor which could have removed that from being an issue. The rooms have natural wood floors, which could be the issue for people in lower floors hearing other noises as people walking on them in hard sshoes would be loud. The rooms were in great condition, well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were quite large and the Master Bath bathroom is huge. From a value standpoint, I don't think there is a better value in Asheville. For considerably less than some of the downtown 4 Star hotels, you get significantly larger rooms, a full kitchen, a fireplace, huge bathrooms and a peaceful area. Staff from start to finish were also terrific. The sole reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was that the wi-fi signal in the room was sporadic and not very strong. You were able to connect most of the time, but you lost signal numerous times. If they could boost the signal, it would be a 5 star rating. We're already booked to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying on top floors. Rooms facing Biltmore Avenue have very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear about your stay with us. Your satisfaction and comfort is always our primary concern, so I'm sure the team will be thrilled to see this. We hope to welcome you back again!
On a side note, we just signed the contract for a new internet and television provider. Premium channels and high quality wi-fi. Hopefully this will be in place before your next visit.
All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very good hotel. Rooms/bed were comfortable. Gym/Exercise room was good. The price of beer was high at the bar, but that is expected at hotels. There are good restaurants to visit around the hotel within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing, Rich, but I'm not sure that you are reviewing the correct hotel. We do not have a bar at our hotel.
We would enjoy hosting you on your next visit to Beautiful Asheville.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Residences at Biltmore was a great lodging choice. The location was great and the room itself had everything you need for a comfortable vacation. The only complaint I have is that the walls are very thin so you can hear everything above and around you as well as outside. The customers service was good and the staff was very accommodating. I would definitely stay again although I'd definitely request a top floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Being compared to a "great oasis" brings a smile to my face! The team will be thrilled to see this. We hope to welcome you back again sometime!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing