We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but one word of caution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residences at Biltmore
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place but one word of caution”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First, let me say that my wife and I loved The Residence at Biltmore. We stayed at the hotel with another couple during the 2012 Christmas holiday. The apartment-style rooms are wonderful: very comfortable, great kitchen, amazing bathroom, very convenient, etc.

One word of caution, however: although we and our friends booked the same room type, booked rooms that were adjacent to each other, booked them within about 24 hours of each other, and booked them directly with the hotel (our friends via the web and me via the phone), the rates we were charged were significantly different and ours was different that what was shown on their website.

We discovered the difference after we returned home. I contacted the hotel to see if there was an error of if they could adjust the higher rate. The hotel CSR explained that their rates were adjusted based on occupancy, booking method, etc.; and that she was unable or unwilling to adjust the rate. Her explanation was plausible but very unsatisfactory. I urge you to consider staying at the Residence BUT be very careful to verify that you'll be charged the expected rate.

I'm certain we'll return to Asheville but sad to say that we'll probably look for a new hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TMcChesney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you and your wife loved staying with us. Providing you comfort and convenience is what we're all about!

I'm sorry about the confusion regarding the booking process. I'm also sorry that the explanation you received was unsatisfactory. If you would like to discuss the situation further please don't hesitate to reach out. We'd love a chance to put our best foot forward, and we'd love to host you again next time you're in Asheville. Take care.

Sincerely,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    300
    93
    38
    24
See reviews for
385
542
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a two-bedroom suite (404) for our 2-night stay in December to visit Biltmore, so beautifully decorated for Christmas. The Residences are a great place to be, extremely close to the main gates of the Estate. The suite's amenities were excellent: a very comfortable sitting area, with fireplace, flat-screen TV, doors to balcony, and great kitchen (stainless steel appliances) and dining area in an open-plan setting. The bathrooms and bedrooms were equally well appointed. Car-parking is another great feature of the property, as we could park our vehicle right behind that part of the apartment complex. I can truly recommend the Residences without hesitation as a wonderful place to stay while in Asheville.

Room Tip: As we were three in our group, the 2-bedroom suite was an easy choice. I asked specifically for a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you commenting on our "excellent" amenities. Providing you with a comfortable, relaxed environment is always our primary concern. Thanks for recommending us to your fellow TripAdvisor users. Hopefully we will see you soon!

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic New Year's weekend in Asheville at the Residences at Biltmore. This is a lovely property with attentive staff. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in front of our fireplace as we watched snow dust the mountains.

We have two complaints. Otherwise, our stay would have been flawless.

1. The Property provides down bedding in all rooms. I am allergic to down, however, and had to strip the bed on arrival. We called housekeeping for replacement pillows and blankets. Pillows were great, but we received two thin and obviously stained blankets as a replacement for the comforter. I would advise Residences to consider hypoallergenic bedding options that fit the feel of the property.

2. We read in other reviews that noise can be an issue, so we were pleased to be given a suite on the highest floor. Our first night was quiet and wonderful. The second night, our neighbors arrived. Their TV must have shared a wall with our headboard. We could hear every word of Rihanna "Diamonds" as well as our neighbor singing along. We called the front desk, who had some success with requesting that our neighbors turn down the volume. However, it was still impossible to sleep in our bedroom until well after 1:30AM. The last time I had a night of sleep this terrible, I lived in an apartment that cost less per month than our suite did per night (next to three grad students obsessed with Shakira). Not sure what to suggest on this front. My husband and I were remarking before heading to bed that we loved Residences at Biltmore and planned to return. It appears despite the best efforts of the Residences staff, the quality of our stay was ultimately determined by our neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Asheville, and thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor, Rachel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our "lovely" property. Your satisfaction is always our primary concern!

I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some constructive feedback. I'm sorry that we could not offer you a better alternative to the down comforter. Your comfort is crucial to us, so thanks for pointing this out.

I'm also sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by your neighbors. Next time, don't hesitate to ask to switch rooms. Like I said, your comfort and satisfaction is crucial to us. I hope you'll be back to see us again in the future. We'd love a chance to show you a five-star experience! Take care.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at The Residences at Biltmore! The accommodations were spacious, clean, and very well kept.The perfect location for visiting The Biltmore and downtown Asheville. My husband and I will be returning this spring for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for sharing your experience. Our guests' satisfaction is always our primary concern, so the team will be thrilled to see this. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the spring. Take care.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This former apartment complex has been converted into the perfect home away from home room: think apartment more than hotel room. Nestled into a residential neighborhood, our one bedroom unit was clean, tastefully decorated and quiet. We loved the gas fireplace, full sized kitchen, flat screen televisions in both the living room and bedroom, the HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub and access to the pool area, hot tub and firepit. Housekeeping was fantastic - we came home to a clean kitchen, fresh linens and everything was in oder every day. It's pet friendly and the rooms are for non-smokers. There is also a business office and a very small fitness room with two treadmills, free weights and a machine for a quick workout. The location is half way between downtown and Biltmore's gate. Loved this place and we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you have a pet, you will most likely want to be placed on a first floor room with patio access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILNDGRL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I couldn't be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our customers' satisfaction is always our primary concern, so the team will be thrilled to see this.

I appreciate you commenting on how much you enjoyed our amenities. Providing the amenities necessary to ensure your comfort is always our goal! Thanks again for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our short stay. After reading other reviews we requested a top floor room. When we arrived we had a top floor room as well as being on the end unit. The only adjoining wall we had with another unit was the bathroom, and we never had any noise problems. The room was homey and well stocked. The bathroom was beautiful and the TV was nice and large. The only complaint was that although the bed was comfy, it was the smallest "queen" bed I've ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandastarr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It's always great hearing back from customers, especially when they were so satisfied with their time here. Our guests satisfaction is always our top priority, so your review makes me very happy. Making you feel at home is what we're all about!

I appreciate your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again next time you're in the area! Take care.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
411 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

At the entrance to The Biltmore is a "Gem" of a hotel! The clean, well managed property is desirable for families who desire to use the pool, kitchen, free parking, and a full breakfast for all, all at a very reasonable price.

If you have a large family, consider getting a two bedroom unit the will allow you to enjoy a living room, two baths and two private bedrooms. You will enjoy your room.

There is enjoyable dining nearby, and remember with a dining room table, refrigerator, stove, microwave, in every room, you can bring carry-out back to your room!

Room Tip: Book early, and don't forget the AAA, 62+, and Gov't rates may save you money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, Owner at The Residences at Biltmore, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I couldn't be happier to hear about your experience with us. We were happy to host you -- even happier to hear that you loved your stay! I appreciate your kind words. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon. Take care.

All the best,

Shane Bounds, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
0.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
6.1 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Biltmore

Property: The Residences at Biltmore
Address: 700 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28803-2591
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#13 Family Hotel in Asheville
#25 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Residences at Biltmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences at Biltmore is an all-suite luxury hotel located in Asheville, North Carolina. This beautiful hotel is set on top of a hill surrounded by timeworn hardwood trees, just outside the gates of the Biltmore Estate in South Asheville. Convenient to Asheville and all of the most sought-after tourism destinations, restaurants and shopping, The Residences at Biltmore is the perfect accommodation for nearly any occasion. Whether you are looking for a unique family vacation destination, a weekend retreat with friends, a romantic mountain getaway or an outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the mountains of North Carolina. Guests may select from Studio, One, Two, and Three Bedroom luxury suites depending on their individual needs. Designed to create a unique "home suite home" experience, each suite features flat-screen televisions, designer bed linens, whirlpool baths, gas fireplaces, private balconies and full kitchens. The on-site health and fitness center is equipped with state-of-the-art fitness equipment, and our outdoor recreation area contains a seasonally heated pool, hot tub and fire pit. Our exclusive concierge service can help with anything you need throughout the duration of your stay, from arranging transportation services, babysitting, pet-sitting, dry cleaning, gift delivery and grocery shopping to making restaurant reservations, salon and spa appointments or golf tee times. We also offer in-room massage therapy services so guests can experience pampering and relaxation without leaving the comfort of their suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residences at Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Asheville
Residences At Biltmore Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing