We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food - Great Music”
Review of The Lobster Trap

The Lobster Trap
Ranked #29 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Since its opening in 2005, The Lobster Trap has been Asheville's premier seafood restaurant, and with good reason. The menu only features fresh seafood caught by trusted domestic purveyors and prepared in ways that showcase the delicate flavors and textures of fish, lobster, crabs, shrimp, oysters and clams. Located in a beautifully renovated historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Lobster Trap features live entertainment from local musicians every night. To that, add locally brewed Oyster House beers, craft cocktails, seafood-friendly wines and southern hospitality and you have The Lobster Trap's formula for success.
Osprey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Music”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We liked the food here very much. I ordered the shrimp and grits and my husband had the pan seared scallops, both were excellent.
What caused me to sit down and write this review however was the fun music-Appalachian Mountain music-something that this city slicker has not heard and had me clapping and stomping with the other diners. A very delightful time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed the music! We are lucky that Asheville has so many talented musicians. Thanks for your business and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    191
    89
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“return after 5yrs.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Been to Asheville twice, made good impression first time so made a point to return on this trip. Only regret is that we live over 1k miles from here, otherwise we would use on a regular basis. A lot more menu items other than the lobster we would like to try. Also a lot of interesting eating places we would like to try, maybe we will spend a week instead of a day here next time back east. Great service, location, food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for coming back! Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully you will make it back to Asheville before another five years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly, delicious, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We found this place driving around looking for a place to park and boy, are we glad this place caught our eye! The atmosphere was really fun and the live music last Thursday was really delightful. Our server was phenomenal - explained the menu offerings and differences well. We both got the lobster Newburgh and a side of lobster Mac and cheese - both were exceptional. The place was real family friendly, our 14 month old was entertained by the staff, the utensils and the lobster tank! Can't wait to get back to Asheville to go back here!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheils78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
So glad you were driving by! Thanks for the kind words and your business. Hope you had a wonderful trip to Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Let me start with the positives: the service was very nice and attentive. I couldn't have asked for a nicer server.

And though there are a lot of raves on Trip Advisor about this place, the food is really just mediocre. Let me break it down:

The lobster bisque was heavy, which is fine, except there was hardly any lobster in it and what there was of it was almost unnoticeable texturally. The lobster gazpacho was interesting and did have real pieces of lobster in it, but still just okay.

The Steam bowl of shrimp was just fine. Decent shrimp but nothing special, with Old Bay on top. Steam bowl of mussels was not good at all. Just had mussels at Chestnut the night before that were excellent. These were overlooked and yet cold and a bath of butter, not broth.

The oysters are supposed to be a specialty there, and while perhaps a bit better than a chain, they were not very good.

Given the specialty focus of The Lobster Trap, it was a disappointment to this local.

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. Please accept my apologies for any food that you were not satisfied with. We prepare the lobster bisque in the traditional manner of pureeing the lobster meat, which is why you did not see any chunks of lobster in it. I have shared your feedback with the kitchen and we will certainly look at the items that you were not happy with. I hope you let your server know. We are happy to remove any item from your check or swap it with something else. I do hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could it get any better?!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Loved everything! Our server was delightful and full of good recommendations. Our shrimp and grits was amazing! I will definitely return here next visit to Asheville.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveler1234Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you enjoyed Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing