We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood in the mountains of NC”
Review of The Lobster Trap

The Lobster Trap
Ranked #26 of 800 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Since its opening in 2005, The Lobster Trap has been Asheville's premier seafood restaurant, and with good reason. The menu only features fresh seafood caught by trusted domestic purveyors and prepared in ways that showcase the delicate flavors and textures of fish, lobster, crabs, shrimp, oysters and clams. Located in a beautifully renovated historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Lobster Trap features live entertainment from local musicians every night. To that, add locally brewed Oyster House beers, craft cocktails, seafood-friendly wines and southern hospitality and you have The Lobster Trap's formula for success.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had dinner at The Lobster Trap on a recent visit to Asheville. We found it very good. We are usually weary of seafood that is not on the coast. I had the Lobster Rolls, dressed, and found them to be as good as any I had in New England. The bun was light and very fresh. My wife had the Bisque and found it very flavorful. For an entree she had the Crabcake dinner. Full of crab and a very good breading that was well seasoned.

I have recommended The Lobster Trap to friends traveling to Asheville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your business and review! We would also like to thank you for recommending The Lobster Trap to others. We appreciate the detail in your review and hope you had a wonderful visit to Asheville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for The Lobster Trap
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 551 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Love the Maine Shrimp and Lobster Toast (Barley baguette broiled with shrimp, lobster and cheese), Very Good. They have the freshest Oysters from different areas. You can even get a sampler of all. The steam bowls are great. The staff our great and wait on you right away. I would go right at opening as they can get busy quick. We have ate here several times and will always stop when we are in Asheville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CherokeeParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your business and review! We really appreciate the detail about the food and the service. Your kind words have made our night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to the Lobster Trap several times and have never come away with anything bad to say. The food is always top drawer and we have always had great service. Expect this place to be crowded and lively. Of special note is the lobster mac & cheese and oysters on the half shelf. There is live music some nights, which adds to the great atmosphere. Put your name on the list for a wait, it is totally worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bravesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you! We all work hard and it is such a nice reward to read your review. I really appreciate your repeat business. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stopped in and enjoyed several varieties of fresh oysters from Maine, Prince Edward Island, Connecticut, and the Gulf of Mexico, and some yummy lobster-y (as opposed to tomato-ey) lobster bisque. Because it happened to be Happy Hour, we washed it all down with local beer at $2 a pint!

Our server was friendly and attentive and the environment was lively. Definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MegtheHealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Thanks so much for your business and review! So happy that you enjoyed your visit. Hope you had a wonderful trip to Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a marvelous place! The visit was magical in more than one way. First, parking ten feet from the door (truly a miracle in Ashville), next, no waiting for a table; then is got better! Edamame as a starter was perfect. The Stout smooth and full of chocolate notes. The cold water oysters were a real treat. The potato and onion crab soup was perfect as was the lobster bisque. The bib salad was a combination of superb flavors and textures! The lobsters were cooked to perfection, sweet and succulent. No room for what looked to be awesome deserts. I was very impressed with the "open kitchen" setup, I love a place that doesn't feel that they need to hide what the staff is doing with the food! The staff was friendly and attentive, our server, Jackie was great. The prices are very reasonable given the quality of the food and service. In all, I recommend this place without reservation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelobstertrap, Owner at The Lobster Trap, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind, detailed review. We work hard to provide customers with a great experience and it is a real treat to get feedback like yours. I look forward to sharing your comments with the staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing