We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go if you are really hungry”
Review of Fig Bistro

Fig Bistro
Ranked #52 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not go if you are really hungry”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Fig for dinner. The food was very good. Service was good too. The portions were very tiny. I ordered he steak with tater tots and a poached egg. The tater tots were the tiniest I have ever seen. Equaled about a table spoon. My husband ordered the chicken with two sticks of asparagus. Our appetizer was bread with ricotta cheese and radishes. One radish and a smear of cheese. So basically we paid $8 for five pieces of bread and a smear of cheese. The whole bill was over $60 for child portions of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaSheltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    117
    39
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Quiet little restaurant in Biltmore Village. Never had a bad meal. Food is excellent but be warned portions are a little small. But if you want a lighter fare - this could be a good choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wow and more wow! A very blustery rainy Sunday drove us to seek shelter from the stiff breezes. We were lucky to get a table and even luckier to be served promptly wonderful food. I don't recall what my friends had but they cleaned their plates. I had the special which was seared scallops perfectly and imaginatively prepared. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mac2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“All hits with one miss....”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Who can resist a real French waiter? Generous wine by the glass...enjoyed the German whites. The mussels in wine and garlic appetizer...outstanding! Chilled leek and roasted pepper soup...delicious. The salad looked fresh from the farm, with dried cherries, goat cheese and a balsamic cherry reduction artfully arranged on the plate. My Schnitzel was not available, so they substituted pork tenderloin. That was the miss, very tasteless. They quickly changed out my order for shrimp risotto with coconut milk. Outstanding. Dessert was panacotta with raspberry sherbet, pot de creme, and bread pudding--very buttery but a bit dry for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome fois gras!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here. I had a fois gras appetizer which was excellent with a pork loin entree. My wife had scallops which were very good but there were only 3. More would have been better and she is not a big eater. It is a smallish place with a very nice ambience. If you go there don't trust your GPS. We were off by a block. We called twice and finally the owner had to come out on the sidewalk to flag us down. This minor inconvenience was definitely worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig Bistro also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fig Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing