We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouchon is absolutely delicious!”
Review of Bouchon

Bouchon
Ranked #26 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bouchon is absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bouchon is a small, intimate restaurant and also has outside café seating. Opens at 5p and they don't take reservations, so suggest getting there early, especially on a Monday for the"all you can eat" mussels for $15.00. They are prepared four different ways, and as an appetizer for $9.00, it's a tasty starter for two. We had ours prepared Parisienne style (white wine, thyme, onions, garlic & butter). Since we had been eating our way through Asheville, we choose the lighter chicken entrees. The roast chicken au jus, with vegetables was a generous and tasty entrée, but the Poulet (chicken) Cordon Bleu was clearly the dinner winner. Delicately breaded and filled with prosciutto & Gruyere cheese it was served sliced as "medallions", with a side of "pomme frites" in a paper sconce. Dinner was absolutely delicious and we would definitely go again when in Asheville. Although the desserts were tempting, we opted to walk to Old Europe Bakery on Broadway for a Napoleon for dessert. Throw your calorie counting aside for this wonderful puff pastry with its layers filled with a Nutella hazelnut filling. Would definitely recommend, and regretfully I only ate one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladolcevitaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    220
    96
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must dine here!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous dining experience! Quick service. Went in for the all you can eat mussels tonight. Myself and three friends all ordered the mussels and were not disappointed. We also had their avocado appetizer and two salads and two desserts. The mousse was phenomenal! Our waiter was fantastic and very patient with our never ending hunger. The amount of money spent compared to what we received was a great value. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryInWaynesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Eat”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Prices are based on food quality, rightfully so. Good service with a great atmosphere. Reminds me of a European street. Offers a bar, no tvs, fine dinning experience. They take no reservations but we ate on Monday with no wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacobchappellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on a Monday night by 5:30PM and requested a table out back in their little courtyard. By 6 all tables were filled so it seemed as if it was an earlier dinner crowd, at least on Monday. By the time we left after 7 there was availability. Inside appeared busier and noisy. Food was fantastic! I had the boeuf bourguinon which was just excellent. My wife thought the chicken cordon bleu was the best she's ever had. Our server Sana was excellent and all staff was friendly and helpful. We will return on our future trips to Asheville. We were to full to try any of the desserts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Bouchon on a Sunday evening. We arrived at 7:15 and were seated almost immediately at the table in the grotto (sort of inside and outside at the same time). Our waiter, Jonathan, was friendly, attentive and efficient. In fact, all of the serving staff were quite friendly.
I ordered the Avocat Bord de Mer: one half avocado with chopped shrimp and crab tossed in olive oil and lemon juice with fresh tarragon, tomato and celery. What a wonderful combination of flavors, light and delicious! There was a nice amount of shrimp and crab included. This dish is available with a whole avocado or a half. My husband had the Gratinee a l'Oignon soup, and it was very good.
The Truite aux Amandes was local fresh trout encrusted with almonds, sautéed and finished with fresh lemon juice, white wine and butter. It was light and delicious, with fingerling potatoes and an incredible medley of fresh vegetables, cooked to perfection and seasoned just right. Tonight's medley included haricots vertes, zucchini, baby Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, carrot, yellow squash, snap peas and broccoli. My husband enjoyed the Pork Two Ways Special: pork tenderloin medallions with bourbon glaze and petite pork shanks simmered in port sauce with roasted peach, potatoes and the fresh vegetable medley. The pork was delicious , moist, tender and extremely well-seasoned. He is not much on vegetable medleys, but this was the best he had ever had, and it was cooked perfectly.
For dessert we split the Creme Brûlée Flight: small servings of four different flavors: Dobra Chai (our favorite), Framboise (raspberry), lavender, and rosemary. They were all light, smooth and divine!
The ambiance was lovely and the evening most enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WitchyMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing