We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great treat in Asheville”
Review of Bouchon

Bouchon
Ranked #24 of 780 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great treat in Asheville”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Our B&B owner recommended this place, and sure enough it was filled with locals! Although it was Tuesday and "all the mussels you can eat" night, my husband and I both went for vegetarian options which were wonderful. Was turned off initially by the seared meat smell (they must have an ineffective kitchen vent), I quickly adjusted. Totally enjoyed the kir royale (appertif), which doesn't seem too common here in the USA. Great food, great service, would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    208
    92
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphi, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I could have eaten here every night!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful farm to table french restuarant. The trout almondine and sauteed vegetables were exquisite. The meal came with French Fries sprinkled with Sea Salt and Herbes du Provence. They were the best I've ever had and served with a Roasted Red Pepper and Mayo dipping sauce. I ate everything in sight!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank newoman2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THERE'S ONLY ONE BOUCHON”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

When your in the mood for real French food - Bouchon is the answer.
Monday - Tuesday or Wednesday is Mussel nights. You've got choices to have your mussels in different sauces Each one incredible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious French bistro with reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Loud, crowded fun bistro....loved the atmosphere, very French. Excellent avocado with shrimp salad for app and delish mussels and steak au poivre for main. Chocolate mousse for dessert also great. Reasonably priced wine too :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
1 review
“Faboulous French Bistro experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this restaurant while, perusing a number of choices in downtown Ashville, and were very intrigued with the reviews we saw. This charming bistro exceeded our expectations. It started with a great helpful server named Debbie, who made great suggestions.

It was Wednesday, so a special they had was all you can eat mussels, with several choices as to how they were prepared. I choose the Mediterranean style with seafood broth, onions and tomatoes with a medium spice. They brought out a bowl of about 3 dozen mussels , that were very flavorful and tender with a broth to die for.

My wife had the special pork medallions with goat cheese mash potatoes wonderful sautéed vegetables. It too was fabulous.

We ened up sharing a African Queen desert of bananas cooked in puff pastry with a rum sauce and topped with coconut ice cream. What can I say, but it was a perfect ending to a great meal.

I would go back here in a heartbeat. Also, dinner without tip, a bottle of wine, and a glass of port was just under a $100.

Make this a must try restaurant!

Jerry & Margo
.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jlwarn1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing