We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouchon Bistro knows French cuisine”
Review of Bouchon

Bouchon
Ranked #23 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bouchon Bistro knows French cuisine”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our party of 12 received very good service and very good food. My trout almandine was tasty and the side vegetables were perfectly cooked and seasoned; the mussels were wonderful; the duck was delicious. A few party members thought their meals were good but not great. The desserts met all expectations; champagne and wine received no complaints. Due to the size of the party, a 20% gratuity was added to the check - unfortunately Bouchon illegally charged the gratuity on the tax as well. Overall the ambiance and the food were quite good; I would go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    215
    93
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So good I went there three times in one week.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

French Comfort Food!!!!! It's hard to say more. If you only have one night to eat in Asheville, eat here.

I went the first night for the all you can eat mussels. I admit I ate one of each of the different styles offered. It was so good I committed the wonderful sin of gluttony. The wine was great and the service was excellent.

I went back a couple of nights later with a friends and we had the Steak Tartar and the seafood plate, both on special. Crazy good.

I went again the third night with yet more people and had the Lamb Kebobs. It not hard to keep saying the food was again excellent. Probably in my top 3 places to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photoclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience - Excellent food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Bouchon - on the recommendation of a friend. It was an excellent experience.When I think about Asheville, I think about going to Bouchon again. The servers were very hospitable and made great recommendations. Although the seating was very close and environment very warm, it did not disstract from our evening. We had a very memorable time there and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightfully delicious”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friends and I met at Bouchon for their all you can eat mussel night. It was a beautiful evening so naturally we sat outside. The outdoor seating was this pleasantly lit alley in the back. We really enjoyed the alleys atsmophere.
Our server was top notch! Very helpful and knowledgable when selecting a bottle of wine. She had the best pre bussing consistency I have ever experienced. I wish I remembered her name. She was a real pleasure to be around.
I was there for the mussel night but the duck was calling my name and it didn't disappoint. So juicy and flavorful it was. Cooked to perfection!
Over all our dinning experience was very good and we will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“And you Meet the Owner Too!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If this is the only place you eat while in Asheville....GO! local cheese, local beer, frog's legs (optional) and a host of the best french country food i can remember. they have outside dinning but we choose the bar where we received tour tips local gossip and the do's and don'ts of the town.And the owner Michel will stop by and tell you his secret. shhhh....DJ

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing