We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious”

Mela Indian Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Located on Lexington Avenue in the heart of downtown Asheville, Mela Indian Restaurant specializes in North and South Indian food made from scratch with local and organic ingredients. We are certified by the Appalachian Sustainable Agriculture Project for using ingredients produced by local farmers. Come sample our lunch buffet which has a range of delicious options including chicken and naan cooked in our authentic tandoor oven, raita prepared with house-made yogurt, and seasonal vegetarian specialties. The atmosphere at dinner is warm and intimate; specials include such favorites such as pistachio lamb and spinach and goat cheese naan which are baked in our genuine tandoor oven. Mela welcomes children and offers a kids menu. In addition to dine-in, we also offer catering services. We have many options available - please contact us for more details. At Mela, our goal is to provide our community with a taste of traditional Indian cuisine. We hope you'll come and join us soon!
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I make a point to stop by Mela everytime I visit Asheville. The Indian cuisine is incredible, and their homemade chai tea is worth trying. This place, like many downtown Asheville spots, can get crowded, but the food is worth the wait. If you are a fan of really good Indian food, Mela is definitely a place that should be on your list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleye07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    173
    40
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A taste of Asheville with an Indian flavor”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Situated in downtown Asheville it's Indian Buffet lunches are excellent. Food is always fresh and the selection whilst pretty predictable means that you can salivate about your favourite dish and know it will be available. The service is excellent with really helpful staff and at a price that is competitive. I am about to qualify for my free lunch on my 10th visit. Seriously it's place you should visit a true Asheville experience. Get a seat at the window and watch the passing parade of styles.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just the Best”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We absolutely love Mela Indian Restaurant in Asheville, N.C. We stop there every time we are traveling in N.C. The food is excellent and of wonderful quality and we have never been disappointed with our meals. The servers are always so friendly and helpful and never rush us. What a wonderful restaurant!!
Keep it up and we will be back soon.
Fans from Michigan

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian lunch buffet ever”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Seriously, best Indian lunch buffet ever. Very fresh. Good lassis too. Service was a little off, especially considering that they're only bringing you drinks, but no matter. I only wish my stomach was bigger so I could have eaten more. : (

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyjane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Dinner and Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Phenomenal lunch buffet. Beet soup with ginger, wonderful chutneys, excellent tapioca dessert. Chai or beer for a little extra and you have all you can eat for $12. Our 16 year-old said, "Sick!"--his highest compliment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadelynGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mela Indian Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mela Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing