We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Inn - normal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Inn - normal hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

Spent 2 nights here in Asheville and it was a very nice holiday inn. Beautiful view, and we had a jacuzzi suite - a huge whirlpool right in the main room! AMAZING.
Ordered breakfast one morning, which was fantastic. The beds were comfortable although I wished there were more than 2 thin blankets on it.
My only big complaint with this hotel was that every light in the rooms were a bright white fluorescent. It made the room feel cold at night rather than a nice warm feeling. Oh, one more problem - the front desk wasn't the most helpful. They couldn't answer pretty much anything...
Otherwise, great hotel. It's not a luxury hotel or anything, but it's comfortable, clean, and the price is pretty low.

P.S. - the hotel recommends a restaurant "Fiddlin Pigs" next door to it. I can back up that recommendation! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightwind_hawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    189
    72
    25
    16
See reviews for
110
191
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, FL.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and were thrilled with everything about this hotel. Would and will stay there again. Best value, spotlessly clean, great service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffGitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed here for one evening on a trip to celebrate our anniversary. We thought the rooms were exceptionally nice for the price. The room felt brand new. The service was also wonderful. Beds were extremely comfortable. We have stayed at more expensive hotels in Asheville but we still prefer this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NegrilBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed at the hotel for three nights on business. I had read the other reviews and was somewhat concerned about the location and the beds. I found both to be fine. The hotel is located in a fairly congested area. Surrounded by restaurants. However, I found this to be an advantage. I ate breakfast at the Cracker Barrel which is within walking distance. There is a supermarket across the street in the event you wanted to get some food and beverages for the room. The hotel is about 5 minutes from downtown.The rooms are spacious and very clean. Nice size plasma television, a chair and ottoman, a desk and internet access. The king size bed is huge. Mattress is firm but not hard. The only sore spot is what appears to be a dilapidated hotel next to one side of the hotel. However, if you are spending most of your time outside the room, the dilapidated hotel is of little consequence.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel while enjoying hiking, whitewater rafting and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We drove to all of our planned activities. It is actually to far from downtown to walk so don't expect to be in the "thick of things" ,if that is what you are looking for. Upon arrival, I was very concerned about the rundown roach motel that sits very close on the side. It looked like permanent housing for some less than desirable people. Our room faced the mountains and I-240 so I did not have to look at this eyesore. I would have requested a room change if we faced the adjacent motel property. The room itself was very nice. It was clean and spacious with a large whirlpool tub. Their were plenty of towels and a good cable TV selection. The wireless internet was easily accesible. The pool was very small and did not seem to be heated. We only used it briefly on the day of arrival. The hotel has an Outback, Cracker Barrell, and Dairy Queen in the parking lot. A Japanese steakhouse was across the street. The hotel was close to I-240 so it was very easy to hop on and off of the interstate to get to area activities. I would recommend this hotel if you plan on just using it as a home base to travel around from. I would definelty request not to be facing the scary looking adjacent motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

We were a little surprised they advertise "Downtown" when it seemed quite a way out of the loop. We had the King suite and it was very nice. Staff was young and helpful. Rooms were clean and linens and furnature very clean and comfortable. We ate at the Fiddling Pig in the same lot and was surprised that we got a show of bluegrass music and dancers to go with dinner. Fun, family place. A cab ride downtown was about $6.00 and we were very pleased. Did not go to the bar/restaraunt but every time we checked it was empty.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waunderingby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

Spent the weekend at the Holiday Inn in downtown Asheville, NC. Above all, the rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable and the staff was more than helpful. Before even arriving to the hotel I called to get information on the nearest Wal-Mart and the nearest eye care center. The staff at the front desk, despite being down with a cold, was more than helpful, even looking up numbers for me in the phone book. The late night/early morning staff was all smiles when we came through the door well after midnight.
Besides the helpful staff, the rooms were CLEAN which is a huge deal for me and the beds & pillows were oh so comfortable. There is a BBQ restaurant & a Cracker Barrell within walking distance of the hotel, too, which was nice. It was right off the highway, but I never heard the first noise from inside the hotel.
I completely enjoyed my experience at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
1.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Address: 42 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home at our Asheville, NC hotel. The unique character of downtown Asheville and the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains surround the newly built Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown.We're only 20 minutes from Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) and a short drive from the many attractions and businesses in downtown Asheville, NC. Our hotel's location puts you close to it all: dining, shopping, entertainment and the arts. You can spend a day perusing the galleries of Grove Arcade, shopping at the Asheville Mall or touring the magnificent Biltmore Estate. Our hotel is less than five miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, deemed 'America's Favorite Drive.' Located only 1.2 Miles from the heart of town, corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's proximity to Asheville's central business district as well as many after hours establishments to enjoy food, drinks and entertainment.While lodging in our Asheville hotel, you're invited to use our meeting rooms as well as the 24-hour business center. We go beyond ordinary Asheville hotels to offer comforts you deserve, such as comfortable beds with triple sheeting, 32' HDTVs, free high-speed Internet access and a microwave and refrigerator in each room. An indoor/outdoor pool and spa, Chef's Corner Restaurant & Lounge are just a taste of the premium amenities you'll enjoy at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Asheville Downtown. Complimentary shuttle service (2 mile radius from hotel) from 4 pm to 10 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Asheville Downtown
Holiday Inn Asheville
Asheville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing